Release Day Picks: July 7th New Album Highlights


Each week Release Day Picks profiles new LPs and EPs Team JamBase will be checking out on release day Friday. This week we highlight new albums by Broken Social Scene, HAIM and The Trongone Band. Read on for more insight into the records we have all queued up to spin.

Broken Social Scene – Hug Of Thunder

The Scoop: Back with their first album in seven years, Canadian supergroup Broken Social Scene recruited many of their original members including Kevin Drew, Brendan Canning, Leslie Feist, Emily Haines, Jimmy Shaw, Amy Millan, Evan Cranley, Charles Spearin and Ohad Benchetrit. The 12 new songs presented on the long awaited follow-up to 2010’s Forgiveness Rock Record feature a total of 15 musicians, including Andrew Whiteman, Justin Peroff, Ariel Engle and more. Described as “righteous but warm, angry but loving, melodic but uncompromising,” “overflowing with glorious open chords, multi-voice harmonies, spacious psychedelia- tinted breakdowns, and more” and “a panoramic, expansive album that manages to be both epic and intimate” get a taste of the new BSS material via the title track below:

Label: Arts & Crafts

Producer: Joe Chiccarelli

Number Of Tracks: 12

Running Time: 52:21

Guest Musicians: N/A


  1. Sol Luna
  2. Halfway Home
  3. Protest Song
  4. Skyline
  5. Stay Happy
  6. Vanity Pail Kids
  7. Hug Of Thunder
  8. Towers and Masons
  9. Victim Lover
  10. Please Take Me With You
  11. Gonna Get Better
  12. Mouth Guards of The Apocalypse

Stream / Download / CD/LP

HAIM – Something To Tell You

The Scoop: It’s been four years since the trio of sisters broke through under their surname HAIM with a standout 2013 debut LP Days Gone. After extensive touring and being given the Best New Artist Grammy Award, Este, Danielle and Alana Haim are back with their sophomore power-pop full-length Something To Tell You. The trio overcame an initial difficulty coming up with new material with the help of being tasked to write a song for the feature film Trainwreck, and though the song wasn’t selected for the movie it started a creative burst that resulted in hundreds of new songs from which the 11 on the album were culled. Watch the video for “Want You Back” here:

Label: Polydor

Producer: HAIM, Ariel Rechtshaid, BloodPop, Rostam Batmanglij

Number Of Tracks: 11

Running Time: 42:34

Guest Musicians: Tommy King, Greg Liesz, Ariel Rechtshaid, Nico Muhly, Buddy Ross, Bloodpop, Jim-E Stack, David Moyer, Matt Bauder, Roger Joseph Manning Jr.


  1. Want You Back
  2. Nothing’s Wrong
  3. Little of Your Love
  4. Ready For You
  5. Something To Tell You
  6. You Never Knew
  7. Kept Me Crying
  8. Found It In Silence
  9. Walking Away
  10. Right Now
  11. Night So Long

Stream / Download / CD/LP

The Trongone Band – Keys To The House

The Scoop: Richmond rockers The Trongone Band recently released their studio debut, Keys To The House. Brothers Andrew Trongone and Johnny Trangone are joined in the four-piece by Ben “Wolfe” White and Todd Herrington. The band recorded the nine-track effort over a three-day period at Montrose Recording, a studio that had an old school vibe to it. Herrington served as producer and as another display of just what a family affair the LP is, Todd borrowed Johnny and Andrew’s dad’s bass for the sessions. The resulting music is influenced by the likes of The Black Crowes, Hard Working Americans and Drive-By Truckers. Listen to “Blind,” the opening track off Keys To The House:

Label: Harmonized Records

Producer: Todd Herrington

Number Of Tracks: 9

Running Time: 36:14

Guest Musicians: N/A


  1. Blind
  2. Anne Marie
  3. Straight To Hell
  4. Not Coming Home
  5. Nothing To Lose
  6. Canyon Road
  7. Another Lost Rambler
  8. Love Away
  9. Ain’t It Funny

Stream / Download / CD/LP

Note: This album was released on June 30.

Compiled by Andy Kahn and Scott Bernstein.