Release Day Picks: January 19th New Album Highlights


Each week Release Day Picks profiles new LPs and EPs Team JamBase will be checking out on release day Friday. This week we highlight new albums by tUnE-YaRdS, First Aid Kit, The Bad Plus, Moon Taxi and Van William. Read on for more insight into the records we have all queued up to spin.

tUnE-YaRdS – I can feel you creep into my private life

The Scoop: Over the course of three studio albums Merrill Garbus, the mastermind behind tUnE-YaRdS, built a reputation for putting out original compositions full of poly-rhythmic sounds inspired by global musical influences. For her latest, I can feel you creep into my private life, Garbus was inspired by her recent experience of taking up DJing and the responsibility of getting people out on the dance floor to get down. The announcement for I can feel you creep into my private life confirmed tUnE-YaRdS is now a duo with Garbus formally naming longtime collaborator Nate Brenner who produced and co-wrote the album, as an official member of the group. The majority of the new material was recorded at John Vanderslice’s studio Tiny Telephone Oakland, in Oakland, California. Check out the music video for “Heart Attack”:

Label: 4AD

Producer: Nate Fox, Nico Segal

Number Of Tracks: 12

Running Time: 44:13

Guest Musicians: Hamir Atwal, Michael Coleman, Nate Fox, Tossie Long, Dina Maccabee, Matt Nelson,Thao Nguyen, Olivia Oyama, Maryam Qudus, Nico Segal, Jason Slota, Moira Smiley, Beau Sorenson, John Vanderslice


  1. Heart Attack
  2. Coast to Coast
  3. ABC 123
  4. Now as Then
  5. Honesty
  6. Colonizer
  7. Look at Your Hands
  8. Home
  9. Hammer
  10. Who Are You
  11. Private Life
  12. Free

Stream / Download / CD/LP

First Aid Kit – Ruins

The Scoop: Back in 2008 sisters Klara and Johanna Söderberg had viral video hit when they uploaded their cover of Fleet Foxes’ “Tiger Mountain Peasant Song” to YouTube. Since then the Swedish sisters have gone on to put out a series of critically-acclaimed albums full of their brand of harmony-laden folk. After a nearly four year wait First Aid Kit has returned with Ruins, their fourth full-length effort and their second on Columbia Records. Produced by Tucker Martine (My Morning Jacket/Modest Mouse) the album features guest spots from R.E.M. guitarist Peter Buck and Wilco drummer Glenn Kotche. Check out the music video for “Fireworks”:

Label: Columbia Records

Producer: Tucker Martine

Number Of Tracks: 10

Running Time: 39:30

Guest Musicians: Peter Buck, Glen Kotche


  1. Rebel Heart
  2. It’s A Shame
  3. Fireworks
  4. Postcard
  5. To Live A Life
  6. My Wild Sweet Love
  7. Distant Star
  8. Ruins
  9. Hem Of Her Dress
  10. Nothing Has To Be True

Stream / Download / CD/LP

The Bad Plus – Never Stop II

The Scoop: In some ways Never Stop II picks up right where 2010’s Never Stop – the first The Bad Plus album only featuring originals – left off. In other ways this new collection of new compositions is a completely fress start for the Minneapolis-based jazz trio. The 10-song sequel out today marks the debut of the new The Bad Plus lineup. Gone is founding pianist Ethan Iverson and in his place is newcomer Orrin Evans supported by the longtime rhythm section of bassist Reid Anderson and drummer Dave King. Anderson was credited with writing six songs Never Stop II, while King and Evans penned a pair each. Check out the album opening track “Hurricane Birds”:

Label: Legbreaker Records

Producer: Pete Rende (Engineer)

Number Of Tracks: 10

Running Time: 52:12

Guest Musicians: N/A


  1. Hurricane Birds
  2. Trace
  3. Boffadem
  4. Safe Passage
  5. 1983 Regional All-Star
  6. Salvages
  7. Commitment
  8. Lean In The Archway
  9. Kerosene
  10. Seams

Stream / Download / CD/LP

Moon Taxi – Let The Record Play

The Scoop: Something strange happened to Moon Taxi last year. Last May, the Tennessee-based band released the single “Two High” an anthemic rock song that’s was partially inspired by the Women’s March. Within months the track became an unexpected hit, with it being streamed some 74 million times on Spotify since its release and earning the band a major label deal with RCA Records. The five-piece band will look to break further into the mainstream with Let The Record Play. The 10-track effort was produced by Moon Taxi guitarist Spencer Thomson. Check out the music video for “Two High”:

Label: RCA Records

Producer: Spencer Thomson

Number Of Tracks: 10

Running Time: 35:08

Guest Musicians: Brianna Bartelt, Dash Breaux, Tim Burkhead, Maggie Chaffee, Caroline Conte, Eva Rose Daniel, Eric Darken, Eleonore Denig, Jody Douglas, Laura Epling, Sydney Jackson, Amythyst Kiah, Grace Laminack, Landon Lapidus, Florian Sabatini, Lyda Smith, Lily Soto, Eleanor Turner,


  1. Let the Record Play
  2. Not Too Late
  3. Good As Gold
  4. Two High
  5. No More Worry
  6. Moving to the City
  7. Nothing Can Keep Us Apart
  8. Keep Me Coming
  9. Trouble
  10. The Way

Stream / Download / CD/LP

Van William – Countries

The Scoop: For the first time in his career Van William is doing something he’s never done before – put out a solo record. The singer-songwriter, who fronted the bands Port O’Brien and WATERS, was inspired by a series of major life-changing events – a break-up, the ending of his bands and the retirement of his father – to head out on his own. The results can be heard on his full-length solo debut Countries. The 11-track effort is full of bouncy folk-rock anthems that William describes as: “restless, reeling, heartbroken and ready to burst.” The album’s co-producer Brian Phillips, Dawes drummer Griffin Goldsmith and POP ETC bassist Chris Chu and keyboardist Tam Visher made up the core of the band backing William, while First Aid Kit (who also have a new record out today, see above) were among those also enlisted to contribute to the album. Check out the music video for “Cosmic Sign”:

Label: Fantasy Records

Producer: Van Pierszalowski, Brian Phillips, POP ETC

Number Of Tracks: 11

Running Time: 39:39

Guest Musicians: Brian Phillips, Griffin Goldsmith (Dawes), Chris Chu (POP ETC), Tam Visher (POP ETC), Klara Söderberg (First Aid Kit) Johanna Söderberg (First Aid Kit), Miya Folick, Sara DaMert, Ro Rowan, Kailey Shaffer


  1. Before I Found You
  2. Revolution
  3. Fourth Of July
  4. The Country
  5. Don’t Take My Love
  6. Never Had Enough
  7. The Middle
  8. Skyward
  9. You’ll Be On My Mind
  10. Cosmic Sign
  11. Talking Love

Stream / Download / CD/LP

Compiled by Jeffrey Greenblatt and Andy Kahn.