Release Day Picks: February 23rd New Album Highlights


Each week Release Day Picks profiles new LPs and EPs Team JamBase will be checking out on release day Friday. This week we highlight new albums by Soulive and the Jerry Garcia Band. Read on for more insight into the records we have all queued up to spin.

Soulive – Cinematics, Vol. 1

The Scoop: Recorded over the course of two days at drummer Alan Evans’ Iron Wax studio, Cinematics, Vol. 1 is the first new studio material released by Soulive in six years. The band describes the five-track EP as “A series of soundtracks for the movies of your mind,” with guitarist Eric Krasno revealing, “Film composers like Jerry Goldsmith, David Axelrod, Ennio Morricone and Melvin Van Peebles were all influential in the concept for Cinematics. The idea is to use soundscape and melodic interplay to enhance the feeling and sentiment of a visual and to amplify the emotion that it’s relating.” Along with keyboardist Neal Evans, the trio expects to issue more studio releases in the near future. Check out the EP’s lead track “Kings March”:

Label: Soulive Music

Producer: Soulive

Number Of Tracks: 5

Running Time: 18:11

Guest Musicians: N/A


  1. Kings March
  2. Bluebird
  3. Sidekick
  4. Millers Last Stand
  5. Waves

Stream / Download / CD/LP

Jerry Garcia Band – GarciaLive Volume Ten: May 20th, 1990 Hilo Civic Auditorium.

The Scoop: While Jerry Garcia fell in love with Hawaii after going to The Aloha State to recover following a diabetic coma in 1986, it took him until 1990 to perform there publicly with the Jerry Garcia Band. Garcia, keyboardist Melvin Seals, bassist John Kahn, drummer David Kemper and vocalists Gloria Jones and Jacklyn Labranch played two shows in Hawaii in May of 1990 and an official recording featuring the second of the two is out today as GarciaLive: Volume Ten: May 20, 1990 Hilo Civic Auditorium.

Highlights from the May 20, 1990 show are plentiful and start right away with a joyous “How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved By You)” and the Garcia/Hunter classic “They Love Each Other.” The JGB embraced the island vibe by performing reggae covers of tunes by Jimmy Cliff (“The Harder They Come”) and Peter Tosh (“Stop That Train”) as well as more contemporary songs (at the time) by Los Lobos (“Evangeline”) and Bruce Cockburn (“Waiting For A Miracle”) and R&B/gospel classics by Don Nix/Dan Penn (“Like A Road Leading Home”), Haven Gillespie/Beasley Smith (“That Lucky Old Son”) and Charles Johnson (“My Sisters and Brothers). And don’t sleep on the rare JGB cover of Bob Dylan & The Band’s “Tears Of Rage” or the show-closing “Tangled Up In Blue.” Listen to “They Love Each Other” from the new GarciaLive:

Label: Round Records/ATO

Liner Notes: Dennis McNally

Number Of Tracks: 18

Running Time: 2:16:42

Musicians:Jerry Garcia, Melvin Seals, John Kahn, David Kemper, Gloria Jones and Jacklyn LaBranch


Disc One

  1. How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved By You)
  2. They Love Each Other
  3. Tough Mama
  4. Like A Road Leading Home
  5. Run For The Roses
  6. The Way You Do The Things You Do
  7. My Sisters & Brothers
  8. Knockin’ On Heaven’s Door
  9. Deal

Disc Two

  1. The Harder They Come
  2. Forever Young
  3. Stop That Train
  4. Tore Up Over You
  5. Tears Of Rage
  6. Evangeline
  7. That Lucky Old Sun
  8. Waiting For A Miracle
  9. Tangled Up In Blue

Stream / Download / CD/LP

Compiled by Andy Kahn and Scott Bernstein.