Red Hot Chili Peppers Offer Live Debut Of 27-Year-Old Original In Rio

By Scott Bernstein Oct 4, 2019 6:47 am PDT

Red Hot Chili Peppers headlined the action at Rock In Rio on Thursday night, where they served up the live debut of an original that dates back to the Blood Sugar Sex Magik days. The set at Parque Olímpico in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil was held on guitarist Josh Klinghoffer’s birthday and the first ever “Sikamikanico” came as a present from the rest of the band.

The Chili Peppers released “Sikamikanico” as the B-Side to “Under The Bridge” in 1992. The song was also included on the Wayne’s World soundtrack the same year. “Sikamikanico” finally saw action live in the middle of last night’s set.

“That was a gift to Josh Klinghoffer,” RHCP frontman Anthony Kiedis told the crowd after the song. “He got a hold of that song and at that time he was a drummer, wasn’t really playing guitar, he was killin’ the skins. So now, about 25 years later, he’s rocking that shit on the guitar.”

All told, the group played a total of 20 songs plus an intro jam and Klinghoffer’s traditional solo piece to start the encore. Josh used his slot to perform “I Don’t Wanna Grow Up” by Tom Waits before the rest of the band returned to end the night with “Goodbye Angels” and “Give It Away.”

Watch pro-shot video of RCHP’s entire Rock In Rio set including “Sikamikanico” (46:33) below:


Red Hot Chili Peppers at Parque Olímpico

  • Intro Jam
  • Can't Stop
  • The Zephyr Song
  • Dark Necessities
  • Dani California
  • Hey
  • I Wanna Be Your Dog  
  • Right on Time
  • The Adventures of Rain Dance Maggie
  • Pea
  • Sikamikanico  
  • Go Robot
  • Californication
  • What Is Soul?  
  • Just What I Needed  
  • Aeroplane
  • The Power of Equality  
  • Soul to Squeeze
  • By the Way
  • I Don't Wanna Grow Up  
  • Goodbye Angels
  • Give It Away
JamBase Collections