Rayland Baxter Announces Mac Miller Tribute EP & Shares 2 Singles

By Scott Bernstein Jun 27, 2019 9:39 am PDT

Singer-songwriter Rayland Baxter will issue good mmornin, an EP featuring seven Mac Miller covers on July 26 via ATO Records. Baxter previewed the EP by sharing his renditions of the late rapper’s “Objects In The Mirror” and “2009.”

Rayland discovered the music of Mac Miller, who died last September, upon watching his set at the 2016 Okeechobee Music Festival. “Baxter was instantly captivated and felt an overwhelming connection to the music,” notes a press release announcing the EP. “Although the two never met, Baxter was deeply inspired by Miller’s music and frequently cited Miller as one of the major inspirations on Baxter’s latest album, 2018’s critically acclaimed Wide Awake.”

Keyboardist/guitarist Aaron Embry, drummer Eric Slick and Rayland’s father, acclaimed pedal steel guitarist Bucky Baxter are among those who contributed to good mmornin. Rayland will donate proceeds from good mmornin to MusiCares’ Mac Miller Legacy Fund and the organization’s mission to assist young adults struggling with substance abuse.

Listen to the first two tracks from the EP below:

Objects In The Mirror


good mmornin Tracklist

  1. Objects In The Mirror
  2. 2009
  3. Small Worlds
  4. We
  5. Brand Name
  6. Cinderella
  7. Come Back To Earth

Tour Dates for Rayland Baxter

JamBase Collections