Ray Paczkowski Continues His Return With Trey Anastasio Band In NYC


For the second night in a row Ray Paczkowski turned what was originally scheduled as a Trey Anastasio Trio show into one from Classic TAB. The keyboardist who made his highly-anticipated return to the road the night prior was a much-welcomed surprise for the sold-out crowd in New York City.

The quartet took to the stage as the heatwave that had been plaguing the Northeast for the better part of a week had finally dissipated giving way to a picture-perfect evening at Central Park SummerStage. The four-piece act stuck to a similar script from Thursday night sticking to a core set of songs that focused heavily on Phish material. “Blaze On” was tapped as the opener for the second night in a row. The Big Boat track was followed by a pair of Trey Anastasio Band tunes with a bouncy “Cayman Review” and “Everything’s Right.” The band then reeled off a string of songs from Anastasio’s full-time band. “Heavy Things,” “Gotta Jibboo” and “Sand,” which were all debuted during Anastasio’s first-ever solo tour back in 1999 highlighted the opening frame.

Classic TAB’s second set of the night got underway with “No Man’s In A No Man’s Land.” The band next dug in on “Ghost” that found Lawton and Markellis laying down a steady rhythm, Paczkowski adding in bubbly textures as Anastasio patiently worked his way through an extended jam. An uptempo take on the Phish early-era chestnut “Camel Walk,” jam-vehicle “Steam” and a funky take on the playfully wordy “Undermind” were standouts. Anastasio & Co. capped the stanza with the high-energy rocker “Push On ‘Til The Day” that had the guitarist twirling as they brought it to a peak.

Anastasio emerged solo with an acoustic guitar to start the encore portion of the night delivering a singalong version of “Waste.” Trey addressed the crowd for the first time all night next. Anastasio talked about how his mom had grown up in Manhatten and how when he was old enough she arranged for him to take guitar lessons in the city at a place along Central Park South that he said he could see from the stage. Anastasio talked about wondering around NYC back in the late 1970s as a 14-year-old and let it slip that during those adventures he had bought a fake ID. The guitarist then apologized to his mom, who he said was in attendance last night, prior to serving up a tender take on “Strange Design” and “More.” The rest of the band reemerged as they closed things out with “Alaska” and a jubilant “First Tube.”

Watch fan-shot video and check out the full setlist below:

[No Man In No Man’s Land | Captured by rdeal1999]

[Ghost | Captured by LazyLightning55a]

[Undermind | Captured by rdeal1999]

[Waste | Captured by rdeal1999]


Trey Anastasio at Central Park SummerStage

Set 1
  • Blaze On  
  • Cayman Review
  • Everything's Right  
  • Heavy Things  
  • Gotta Jibboo  
  • Party Time  
  • Miss You  
  • Sand  
Set 2
  • No Men in No Man's Land  
  • Ghost  
  • Camel Walk  
  • Dark and Down
  • Soul Planet  
  • Steam  
  • Undermind  
  • Push On 'Til the Day
  • Waste  
  • Strange Design  
  • More  
  • Alaska  
  • First Tube  

Tour Dates for
Trey Anastasio