Railroad Earth Dusts Off Traffic Cover In Austin

By Jeffrey Greenblatt Apr 8, 2019 12:49 pm PDT

Railroad Earth closed out a two-night stand in Austin on Saturday. The New Jersey-bred band unearthed their take on Traffic’s “Glad” for the first time in over four years and were joined by keyboardist Matt Slocum and Mike Robinson on pedal steel, guitar and banjo for the entire show.

The jamgrass act opened their second night Texas’ state capital with a seamless run that saw them dig in on “Black Elk Speaks,” “Walk Beside Me” and “Just So You Know.” The band then reached back to their 2001 debut The Black Bear Sessions for the old-school classic “Chains.” The pairing of “Farewell To Isinglass” and “Captain Nowhere” helped highlight the back half of the opening frame.

The frequent partners “Dance Around Molly” and “Dandelion Wine” from Bird In A House were tapped to get the second stanza off the ground. Fiddle player Noah Jeffries from opening act The Deer emerged next for a take on “Reuben’s Train.” Three songs later Railroad Earth revived Traffic’s “Glad,” offering up the cut from John Barleycorn Must Die for the first time since January 24, 2015. Setlist staples “Warhead Boogie,” “Stillwater Getaway” and “Seven Story Mountain” closed out the set. Railroad Earth looked to a cover of the Jerry Garcia Band via the Sensational Nightingales’ “My Sisters And Brothers” as their lone encore on Saturday.

Watch a recap video featuring audio of “Captain Nowhere” that the band has shared below:

Setlist (via Railroad Earth Facebook)

Set One: Black Elk Speaks > Walk Beside Me > Just So You Know, Chains, Hangtown Ball, Any Road, Farewell to Isinglass > Captain Nowhere

Set Two: Dance Around Molly > Dandelion Wine, Rueben’s Train*, Black Bear, For Love, Glad^, Warhead Boogie> Stillwater Getaway, Seven Story Mountain

Encore: My Sisters and Brothers

*with Noah Jeffries (The Deer) on fiddle, ^ LTP 1/24/2015

JamBase Collections