Phish Party Time In Austin – Setlist & The Skinny


Phish opened up their two-night Texas run Tuesday at the Austin360 Amphitheater. The show was their first in the Lone Star State since October 2010, and their first two-setter there since 1999. The band made up for lost time by cramming 25 songs in over nearly three hours, while still finding several opportunities to give the Austin crowd some hot jams to sweat along to.

Phish began celebrating their Texas arrival immediately with a “Party Time” opener. The song’s first appearance of the year was followed by the tour’s second “Free.” The high-energy rockers kept coming with a quick “Halley’s Comet” and “Wolfman’s Brother,” which Trey brought to a long, screaming peak atop Page’s slick clavinet work. After lamenting their long absence from Texas, Trey cheekily called this a homecoming show (he was born in the state). After a run through “Possum,” the band was finally ready for an extended breather. “Lawn Boy,” “Bouncing Around the Room,” and “Water in the Sky” came next. The low-key vibes kept on coming, as the band took on “Dirt” for the first time since 10/25/13, then continued with “Devotion to a Dream” and “Sugar Shack.” Finally, they fired the engines back up with “Run Like An Antelope.” A straightforward rocking run through the 30-year-old tune closed the set.

The second set opened with “46 Days,” which quickly found its way into the Chilling, Thrilling adrenaline-pumper, “The Dogs.” The latter only lasted briefly before returning to “46 Days,” which dissolved into a spacey excursion that would serve as the set’s improvisatory highlight. “Piper” came next, rollicking along within the song’s structure yet exploring that space ably, before fading into “Ghost.” The ensuing jam drifted into a major key, sending many fans’ arms skyward in a state of Bill Walton-esque bliss.

For the rest of the set, Phish alternated ballads with upbeat rockers. The tender “Shade,” which was debuted last week in Oregon, was followed by “Gotta Jibboo,” which allowed Trey to get off some fiery licks. “Waiting All Night” cooled things back down before a short, crisp “Blaze On” heated them back up. Next was “Wading in the Velvet Sea,” which yielded the floor to an energetic “David Bowie.” A Mu-tron-inflected “Suzy Greenberg” came next, before the band closed the set with the “Reprise” to Saturday night’s “Tweezer.” They came back out for “Loving Cup” — just the third cover of this tour’s five shows — before calling it a night.

Phish’s Texas two-step continues Wednesday night with a gig in Grand Prairie, which will again be webcast on



  • Venue Type: Outdoor Ampitheater / 14,000
  • Previous Shows at Venue: Phish had never played this venue before
  • Number Of Songs / Length – First Set: 12 / 8:34 p.m. – 9:55 (81 minutes)
  • Number Of Songs / Length – Second Set & Encore: 13 / 10:27 p.m. – 11:58 (92 minutes)
  • Total Number of Songs / Covers / Originals: 25 / 1 / 24
  • Biggest Bustout: Dirt 58 Shows (LTP – 10/25/13)
  • Average Song Vintage: 1998
  • Debuts: N/A
  • Weather: 94° and Sunny at showtime
  • Average Song Gap: 8.38
  • The Spread: Junta – 1, Lawn Boy – 3, A Picture of Nectar – 1, Hoist – 1, Billy Breathes – 1, The Story of the Ghost – 3, Farmhouse – 3, Round Room – 1, Joy – 1, Fuego – 1, Chilling Thrilling Sounds of the Haunted House – 1, Misc – 6, Covers – 1
  • Longest LivePhish Track / Shortest LivePhish Track: 46 Days 13:36 / Water in the Sky 2:59
  • Audio: Live Phish

Phish From The Road Photos…