Phil Lesh & Friends Re-Create Formerly The Warlocks Show At Terrapin Crossroads


Grateful Dead bassist Phil Lesh continued a tribute to each year of the band’s touring career by re-creating a show from 1989 on Tuesday night at Terrapin Crossroads in San Rafael, California. Phil Lesh & Friends utilized a setlist from one of the Dead’s famed “Formerly The Warlocks” concerts that originally took place on October 9, 1989 at Hampton Coliseum in Hampton, Virginia.

Lesh was joined by drummers Ezra Lipp and Danny Luering, guitarists Stu Allen and Scott Law and keyboardist Scott Guberman for the performance. Instead of discussing the year 1989 in pop culture and Grateful Dead land at the start of the show, Phil and Jay Blakesberg held the 1989 chat during setbreak. The bassist talked about the circumstances that led to the recording of Built To Last, the shifts of life on the road now that he had a family (Brian Lesh was born in 1989), the venues that banned the Grateful Dead and other topics.

The six-piece used the same exact setlist last night that the Dead did at the Formerly The Warlocks finale including “Dark Star,” “Attics Of My Life,” “Death Don’t Have No Mercy,” “Dear Mr. Fantasy” > “Hey Jude Reprise” and “We Can Run But We Can’t Hide.” Stream soundboard audio below followed by the Grateful Dead’s October 9, 1989 setlist.

Full Show Audio (Shared by Quinfolk)


Grateful Dead at Hampton Coliseum

Set 1
  • Feel Like a Stranger
  • Built to Last
  • Little Red Rooster  
  • Ramble On Rose
  • We Can Run
  • Jack-A-Roe  
  • Stuck Inside of Mobile With the Memphis Blues Again  
  • Row Jimmy
  • The Music Never Stopped
Set 2
  • Playing in the Band  
  • Uncle John's Band  
  • Dark Star  
  • Drums
  • Space
  • Death Don't Have No Mercy  
  • Dear Mr. Fantasy  
  • Hey Jude  
  • Throwing Stones
  • Good Lovin'  
  • Attics of My Life  

Tour Dates for
Phil Lesh

  • Nov
  • Nov
  • May
    • Black Ridge Road
    • Floyd, VA 24091
    • United States