Pharoah Sanders, Floating Points & London Symphony Orchestra Announce Collaborative Album ‘Promises’

By Scott Bernstein Feb 16, 2021 10:33 am PST

Legendary jazz saxophonist Pharoah Sanders and British musician/producer Floating Points (Sam Shepherd) collaborated on Promises, an album featuring the London Symphony Orchestra. The collection of nine movements is due out via Luaka Bop on March 26.

While few details of Promises have been revealed, the collaborators released a teaser video for the project. Julie Mehretu prepped the artwork for the LP, which according to Rolling Stone is the first album Sanders has recorded in over a decade.

The 80-year-old Pharoah Sanders is among the most highly respected tenor saxophonists to play the instrument. Sanders was a member of John Coltrane’s band and counts Sun Ra, Alice Coltrane, Don Cherry, McCoy Tyner and Ornette Coleman among those he’s recorded and performed with since beginning his career. has been launched with the promise of more updates to come. The site also includes transcription of a conversation between Pharoah Sanders and Sam Shepherd.

Watch a teaser for the album below:

Promises Tracklist

  1. Movement 1
  2. Movement 2
  3. Movement 3
  4. Movement 4
  5. Movement 5
  6. Movement 6
  7. Movement 7
  8. Movement 8
  9. Movement 9
JamBase Collections