Perpetual Groove Celebrates New Year’s Eve With ‘All My Friends’ In Charleston

Southern jam act Perpetual Groove usually celebrates New Year’s Eve in Atlanta, but on Sunday they played The Pour House in Charleston. The quartet expertly mixed beloved originals with choice covers over the course of three sets in South Carolina. Soundboard audio of the two electric sets that ended the night can be streamed below.

The day began with an acoustic porch set. PGroove worked such memorable originals as “Holy Ship,” “It Starts Where It Ends” and “Sweet Oblivious Antidote” in with covers of Van Morrison’s “Tupelo Honey” and Talking Heads’ “This Must Be The Place (Naive Melody).” Brock Butler & Co. began the first electric set with newcomer “Black String” and then reeled off lengthy versions of “Green Tea” and “Cairo” ahead of “Green Light Go” and a majestic “Three Weeks.”


Perpetual Groove’s final set of the night began with “MOTA” and then featured a “The Sunshine Underground” that brought 2017 to a close. After the traditional “Auld Lang Syne,” the foursome delivered an intense cover of LCD Soundsystem’s “All My Friends.” PGroove segued from the LCD cover into “Speed Queen” and then treated fans to the Fatboy Slim banger “Praise You.” The set ended with a fantastic run of “Robot Waltz,” “Paper Dolls” and “Walkin’ In Place.” The band then returned to end the evening with a “Teakwood Betz” encore.

Listen to soundboard audio of the electric sets captured by Joel Hudson:



Acoustic Porch Set: For Now Forget, Holy Ship, Straight Down, Best Of Anything, I Can Get Off On you, TSM2, It Starts Where it Ends, Tupelo Honey, Sweet Oblivious Antidote, Naive Melody

Set One: Black String, Green Tea, Cairo, Green Light Go, Three Weeks

Set Two: MOTA> The Sunshine Underground> Auld Lang Syne> All My Friends> Speed Queen> Praise You> Speed Queen, Robot Waltz, Paper Dolls, Walkin in Place

Encore: Teakwood Betz

  • Upcoming Shows