Pelican: New Album Details

Pelican Announces New Album Details
Instrumental Quartet Readies Fourth Full Length Album

Chicago experimental metal band Pelican are in the studio putting the finishing touches on their fourth studio album, What We All Come To Need (out this fall). What guitarist Laurent Lebec has dubbed “the most perfect synthesis of everything we’ve done to date,” the new album is a giant step forward within the complex, intricate, beautiful and crushing sound Pelican is famous for. The album features more guests than have ever appeared on a Pelican album before: Greg Anderson of Sunn O))), Aaron Turner of Isis, Ben Verellen of Helms Alee and Allen Epley from The Life & Times and Shiner.

Content wise, Lebec says “There is a current of inspiration that feels particular to each album’s music and titles. Though we lack a singer, the song names are often conceptual. This new album speaks to a rapidly decaying world, the fulfillment we find in each other, as well as the resolve to move beyond disillusionment.” If the recent Ephemeral EP is any indication of what’s to come, expect nothing less than the apex of Pelican’s creative output.

What We All Come To Need Track Listing:
1) Glimmer
2) The Creeper
3) Ephemeral
4) Specks Of Light
5) Strung Up From The Sky
6) An Inch Above Sand
7) What We All Come To Need
8) Final Breath

For more on Pelican check our exclusive feature/interview here.