Pearl Jam, Yes & Journey Among 2017 Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame Inductees


The 2017 inductees for the the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame have been revealed. Pearl Jam, Journey, Joan Baez, Electric Light Orchestra, Yes and Tupac Shakur will be inducted into the Rock Hall at a ceremony held at the Barclays Center in Brooklyn on April 7. In addition, Nile Rodgers of Chic will receive the Award For Musical Excellence.

In order to be eligible for inclusion in the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, artists must have released their first recording at least 25 years ago. Inductees were chosen by more than 800 voters of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Foundation, as well as the aggregate results of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame’s online fan vote. Bad Brains, Chaka Khan, Chic, Depeche Mode, The J. Geils Band, Jane’s Addiction, Janet Jackson, Joe Tex, Kraftwerk, MC5, Steppenwolf, The Cars and The Zombies were nominated for induction but didn’t make the cut this year.

It remains to be seen if Journey will reunite with Steve Perry for the first time since 1991 and Yes will perform with Jon Anderson and Rick Wakeman for the first time since 2004 at the upcoming ceremony. An edited version of the induction ceremony will have its television premiere on HBO along with a radio broadcast on SiriusXM. Ticketing details and broadcast information will be announced in early 2017.