Pearl Jam, Jim James, The Avett Brothers & More Appear On New Brandi Carlile Covers Album


An all-star lineup of musicians contributed to a new charity tribute album featuring the songs on Brandi Carlile’s 2007 album The Story. Sales of the 14-song Cover Stories: Brandi Carlile Celebrates 10 Years of The Story – An Album to Benefit War Child, which comes out on May 5, will go toward the London-based international charity War Child.

The charity album features covers of each of the songs on The Story performed by the likes of Pearl Jam, My Morning Jacket frontman Jim James, The Avett Brothers, Kris Kristofferson, Margo Brice, Old Crow Medicine Show, Indigo Girls and others. Additional backing personel included Chris Stapleton, Miranda Lambert and production by Dave Cobb. All but two of the tracks — Ruby Amanfu’s “Shadow On The Wall” and Adele’s “Hiding My Heart” — were recorded last year specifically for the project. It was Adele’s 2011 recording that served as an inspiration behind the tribute LP.

“This is a David and Goliath story,” Carlile said in a statement. “Since becoming a mother, the reality of a child’s beautiful life being torn apart by war felt like too big of a problem for me. So I asked my heroes and friends to help me launch a rock at the giant that is our refugee crisis and help in the only way we know how, through the power of music. It’s not how hard you can throw, it’s how high you’re willing to aim.”

Former President Barack Obama wrote a foreward that accompanies Cover Stories, and he issued the following statement to Rolling Stone regarding the project:

As an artist, Brandi Carlile is using her talent on behalf of the most vulnerable among us, children living in areas of conflict. She reminds us that, together, we can build for our children a more just, peaceful world.

Head here to read more about the album and to access various pre-ordering options. The first single shared from Cover Stories is Dolly Parton’s arrangement of the title track to The Story, which can be streamed via Rolling Stone.

Cover Stories: Brandi Carlile Celebrates 10 Years of The Story Tracklist

  1. Late Morning Lullaby – Shovels and Rope
  2. The Story – Dolly Parton
  3. Turpentine – Kris Kristofferson
  4. My Song – Old Crow Medicine Show
  5. Wasted – Jim James
  6. Have You Ever – The Avett Brothers
  7. Josephine – Anderson East
  8. Losing Heart – The Secret Sisters
  9. Cannonball – Indigo Girls
  10. ntil I Die – TORRES
  11. Downpour – Margo Price
  12. Shadow On The Wall – Ruby Amanfu
  13. Again Today – Pearl Jam
  14. Hiding My Heart – Adele