Patti Smith Releases ‘Live At Electric Lady’ EP

Listen to the seven-song collection, which includes new versions of originals along with Stevie Wonder and Bob Dylan covers.

By Scott Bernstein Aug 26, 2021 1:20 pm PDT

Today, legendary musician Patti Smith shared a new EP entitled Live At Electric Lady exclusively via Spotify. Smith recorded the seven-track collection live at New York City’s famed Electric Lady studios this past April.

Live At Electric Lady marks Patti’s first new recorded music since putting out Banga in 2012. Smith tracked five career-spanning originals such as “Birdland” and “Peaceable Kingdom” as well as covers of Stevie Wonder’s “Blame It On The Sun” and “One Too Many Mornings” by Bob Dylan. The surprise-release comes as the latest installment of Spotify’s Live At Electric Lady series which builds upon the streaming service’s Spotify Singles series.

“We are very proud to be part of Spotify’s Live at Electric Lady series, our favorite recording studio,” Smith said. “It was a unique challenge and offered us an exciting and innovative platform. We are grateful to Spotify for their generous support and willingness to present a live performance with all its possibilities of risk and revelation.”

Listen to Patti Smith’s Live At Electric Lady EP below:

Jon Batiste, Bleachers, Dominic Fike and Japanese Breakfast are among other artists who recorded Live At Electric Lady EPs.

Live At Electric Lady EP Tracklist

  1. April Fool
  2. Ghost Dance
  3. Blame it on the Sun (Stevie Wonder)
  4. Broken Flag
  5. Birdland
  6. One Too Many Mornings (Bob Dylan)
  7. Peaceable Kingdom
JamBase Collections