Nils Lofgren Pleads ‘Ain’t The Truth Enough’ On New Single Featuring Ringo Starr

Stream the lead single and opening track from Lofgren’s forthcoming solo album, Mountains.

By Scott Bernstein May 3, 2023 8:10 am PDT

Famed musician Nils Lofgren recruited legendary Beatles drummer Ringo Starr to contribute to his new single, “Ain’t The Truth Enough.” The song is the lead single and opening track from Lofgren’s forthcoming solo album, Mountains, which arrives on July 21.

The Rock & Roll Hall of Famer and member of both the E Street Band and Crazy Horse wrote and recorded the 10-song collection at his home in Scottsdale, Arizona. Special guests include Starr, Neil Young, Cindy Mizelle, the Howard Gospel Choir, Ron Carter and David Crosby.


“These songs are all born of raw emotion,” explained Lofgren of the material on Mountains. “I gave myself permission to share my fear and my anger, my love and my hope, to be open about what I was experiencing without over analyzing or editing the life out of it.”

Nils Lofgren co-produced the set with his wife, Amy. Instead of his usual slow and deliberate process, Lofgren used a different method in which he wrote each day about the emotions he was feeling regardless of whether he was happy or sad. “The album started as a form of therapy,” Lofgren added, “but it very quickly grew beyond that. It was so freeing to work without any restrictions, to just write whatever came out, and it turned into some of the most inspired work I think I’ve ever made.”

Nils On The JamBase Podcast

“Ain’t The Truth Enough” is an example of his new process as the song was penned in response to the January 6, 2021 insurrection at the U.S. Capitol building. Lofgren shared the following about the new single:

“One early desert morning, strong coffee in hand, I tuned my Martin D-35 acoustic gifted to me by the great James Caan (bless you Jimmy) to an open G and said ‘write’! Soon the title and main riff were coming through me… “ain’t the truth enough!” Lucky me! I felt I had to go deep and with the global war on women, and man’s deadly epidemic of lies and spin for money and power, I imagined a fierce, loving mother and wife dealing with a husband recently home from the insurrection. (Cindy Mizelle added the woman’s voice with great soul and power here) I felt inspired and a day later this special song was done. Not mean spirited, all truth, harsh reality.”

Stream Nils Lofgren’s “Ain’t The Truth Enough” below:

Loading tour dates


Mountains Tracklist

  1. Ain’t The Truth Enough
  2. Only Ticket Out
  3. Back In Your Arms
  4. Won’t Cry No More (For Charlie Watts)
  5. Nothing’s Easy (For Amy)
  6. Dream Killer
  7. Only Your Smile
  8. I Remember Her Name
  9. We Better Find It
  10. Angel Blues
JamBase Collections