Neil Young To Release ‘Roxy – Tonight’s The Night Live’ On Record Store Day


Neil Young will issue the archival live album Roxy – Tonight’s The Night Live on April 21. The Record Store Day release captures the legendary rocker’s performances at The Roxy Theater in Los Angeles on September 20-22, 1973.

Young was backed by the Santa Monica Flyers – pedal steel guitarist Ben Keith, bassist Billy Talbot, drummer Ralph Molina and keyboardist/guitarist Nils Lofgren – for what were the first shows held at the now notorious L.A. rock club. The concerts featured many debut performances of songs that would be recorded for Young’s Tonight’s The Night album, which would come out in June 1975.

BroadwayWorld published this statement from Young regarding The Roxy shows:

In 1973, I drove my 1947 Buick Roadmaster, Black Queen, to LA from the North, accompanied by Ben Keith. Once we made it to Hollywood, we met up with Billy Talbot and Ralph Molina. Nils Lofgren joined us and we drove to Studio Instrument Rentals on Santa Monica Blvd. David Briggs, producer, and Johnny Talbot, equipment manager, met us there. They had blasted a hole in the wall to connect the green board which we had set up (an old tube board I had purchased that had been used recording many historic sessions from the Beach Boys’ Pet Sounds to Monterey Pop Festival, among many others) next to the rehearsal hall. Our 16-track analog tape machine was set up next to the board. We had finished recording TTN and decided to celebrate with a gig at a new club opening on the Sunset Strip, the Roxy. We went there and recorded for a few nights, opening the Roxy. We really knew the Tonight’s The Night songs so we just played them again, the album, top to bottom, two sets a night for a few days. We had a great time. Roxy – Tonight’s The Night Live is the live recording we made. There is a little Super 8 footage of us driving to the gig in the Black Queen one of those nights.

The two-LP Record Store Day Limited Edition pressing comes with an exclusive print of Young and the band performing live at The Roxy. Produced by Young and the late David Briggs, the recordings were mixed by John Nowland. Post-production and updated mastering using original analog master tapes were administered by John Hanlon and Chris Bellman at Bernie Grundman Mastering.

Roxy – Tonight’s The Night Live Tracklist

Side One:

  1. Tonight’s The Night
  2. Mellow My Mind
  3. World On A String

Side Two:

  1. Speakin’ Out
  2. Albuquerque
  3. New Mama
  4. Roll Another Number (For The Road)

Side Three:

  1. Tired Eyes
  2. Tonight’s The Night
  3. Walk On

Side Four:

  • [Etched artwork]

[Hat Tip – Rolling Stone]

Tour Dates for
Neil Young

  • Jan
  • Jan
  • Jan
  • Jan
  • Jan
  • Jul
  • Jul