Neil Young & Promise Of The Real Announce ‘Paradox’ Soundtrack Album


Neil Young and Promise of The Real will issue the soundtrack album to the film Paradox through Reprise Records digitally and on vinyl on March 23 (the CD edition is due April 20). The Daryl Hannah-directed Western stars Young and POTR members Lukas Nelson and Micah Nelson as well as their father Willie Nelson.

The feature film Paradox will make its world premiere on March 15 in Austin, Texas at the SXSW Film Festival. Along with a limited theatrical release, the movie will be available on Netflix starting on March 23. A press release describes the film as:

A fantasy, a loud poem and a whimsical tale of music and love, Paradox is a sweetly idiosyncratic personal expression. Sometime in the future-past, a band of outlaws hides out high in the Mountains. The “Man in the Black Hat” (Neil Young), the “Particle Kid” (Micah Nelson) and “Jail Time” (Lukas Nelson) and a band of cowboys and outlaws pass the days digging for treasure while they wait for the full moon to bring its magic, the music and let the spirits fly.

The Paradox soundtrack features Young in a variety of configurations, including solo on electric guitar, backed by POTR, with an orchestra during sessions at the MGM Soundstage and supported by drummer Jim Keltner and bassist Paul Bushnell. Neil’s “Joe Yankee” pseudonym is also credited with the only overdubs on the album, which was produced by Young and John Hanlon.

The soundtrack album features Young classics like “Pocahontas,” as well as the title track from his 2016 album Peace Trail and covers such as Jimmy Reed’s “Baby What You Want Me To Do?” and Willie Nelson’s “Angel Flying Too Close To The Ground.” Watch the Paradox trailer below:

Paradox (Music From The Film) Vinyl Tracklist:

Side 1:

  1. Many Moons Ago In The Future (Narration by Willie Nelson)
  2. Show Me
  3. Paradox Passage 1
  4. Hey
  5. Paradox Passage 2
  6. Diggin’ In The Dirt – Chorus
  7. Paradox Passage 3
  8. Peace Trail

Side 2:

  1. Pocahontas
  2. Cowgirl Jam
  3. Angel Flying Too Close To The Ground

Side 3:

  1. Paradox Passage 4
  2. Diggin’ In The Dirt
  3. Paradox Passage 5
  4. Running To The Silver Eagle
  5. Baby What You Want Me To Do?
  6. Paradox Passage 6
  7. Offerings
  8. How Long?
  9. Happy Together

Side 4:

  • Etched artwork

Tour Dates for Neil Young