Mountain Man Announces Long-Awaited New Album ‘Magic Ship’ & Shares Singles

By Andy Kahn Aug 9, 2018 11:43 am PDT

Mountain Man announced the upcoming release of their long-awaited sophomore album Magic Ship, which will be issued by Nonesuch Records on September 21. The trio shared a trio of singles from the forthcoming LP.

Mountain Man features Alexandra Sauser-Monnig, Molly Sarlé and Sylvan Esso’s Amelia Meath. The threesome’s debut album Made the Harbor was issued in 2010. They disbanded shortly after the critically acclaimed debut was released. The group reformed last summer at the Eaux Claires festival in Eau Claire, Wisconsin.

The 14-song Magic Ship was recorded shortly after the festival set and features 11 new originals as well as covers of Ted Lucas’ “Baby Where You Are,” Michael Hurley’s “Blue Mountain” and the traditional “Bright Morning Stars.” The album’s three lead singles — “Window,” “Rang Tang Ring Toon” and “Stella” — can be streamed below:

Magic Ship Tracklist

  1. Window
  2. Agt
  3. Baby Where You Are
  4. Rang Tang Ring Toon
  5. Stella
  6. Blue Mountain
  7. Moon
  8. Boat
  9. Whale Song
  10. Fish
  11. Underwear
  12. Slow Wake Up Sunday Morning
  13. Bright Morning Stars
  14. Guilt
JamBase Collections