Motörhead Covers David Bowie’s ‘Heroes’ On New Compilation


A recording of David Bowie’s “Heroes” is featured on a new Motörhead compilation album entitled Under Cöver. The album featuring the iconic metal band recording classic rock covers is due out on September 1.

The band’s late frontman and bassist Ian “Lemmy” Kilmister, drummer Mikkey Dee and guitarist Phil Campbell are featured on a total of 11 tracks dating back to sessions held in 1992. The Under Cöver compilation includes covers of songs originally performed by The Rolling Stones, Ozzy Osbourne, Metallica, Judas Priest, The Ramones, Twisted Sister and more.

“It’s such a great Bowie song, one of his best,” said Campbell, “and I could only see great things coming out of it from us, and so it proved to be, and Lemmy ended up loving our version.”

Video of the lone live Motorhead performance of “Heroes,” which took place in on June 23, 2015 during their encore at Rockhal in Esch-sur-Alzette, Luxembourg, is featured in the officially shared video of the cover. The live footage is interspersed with images of the legendary band on the road.

“[Lemmy] was very, very proud of it, not only because it turned out so well but because it was fun!,” said Dee of the Bowie cover. “Which is what projects like this should be – fun!”

Watch the “Heroes” video here:

Under Cöver Tracklisting

  1. Breaking the Law (Judas Priest)
  2. God Save the Queen (The Sex Pistols)
  3. Heroes (David Bowie)
  4. Starstruck (Rainbow)
  5. Cat Scratch Fever (Ted Nugent)
  6. Jumpin’ Jack Flash (The Rolling Stones)
  7. Sympathy for the Devil (The Rolling Stones)
  8. Hellraiser (Ozzy Osbourne)
  9. Rockaway Beach (Ramones)
  10. Shoot ‘Em Down (Twisted Sister)
  11. Whiplash (Metallica)

[Hat Tip – Rolling Stone]