The Mother Hips Announce New Album ‘When We Disappear’ & Unveil Spirited Title Track

The 10-track LP features nine songs co-written by Tim Bluhm and Greg Loiacono along with a Buffy St. Marie cover.

By Scott Bernstein Oct 21, 2022 7:54 am PDT

The Mother Hips confirmed details of When We Disappear, a new studio album set for release via Blue Rose Music on January 27, 2023. Out today from the veteran Northern California-based rock band is the rollicking title track single and opening song from the upcoming LP.

In November of 2021 co-founders Tim Bluhm and Greg Loiacono assembled with bandmates John Hofer and Brian Rashap in Santa Fe, New Mexico to begin work on the follow-up to Glowing Lantern. The Mother Hips took a trip to New Mexico’s renowned Ghost Ranch with Blue Rose founder Joe Poletto before they headed to Jono Manson’s The Kitchen Sink facility to record what turned out to be the band’s 12th studio album.

“It was pretty much just us and Jono working closely for the week,” explained Loiacono. “We had one drop-in from our friend, Jon Graboff who lives in town. We were lucky enough to get him to put some pedal steel guitar on a song. We had a fine and productive time in Santa Fe.” The self-produced When We Disappear consists of nine new tracks penned by Bluhm and Loiacono, in which the pair were inspired by psychology and literature, as well as a cover of Buffy St. Marie’s “Codine.”

Tim Bluhm shared the following in regards to title track “When We Disappear”:

“Greg sent me a rough demo of this song and I thought it was promising. What he was singing was place-holder gibberish, or sounds mixed with some actual lyrics, including what would become the title. I went through it and matched words to his sounds and then tweaked the words to tell a kind of impressionistic history of our adventures together. In this way I believe both Greg’s and my own subconscious worlds revealed themselves. The music is simple and loose, helping with the devil-may-care attitude of the singing.”

Stream The Mother Hips’ “When We Disappear” below:

Loading tour dates


When We Disappear Tracklist

  1. When We Disappear
  2. Codine
  3. She Stepped Away
  4. Iffy Jackpot
  5. Almost to Idaho
  6. Leaving The Valley
  7. Lost Out The Window
  8. Spirit of ’98
  9. Room Four
  10. Stories Unborn
JamBase Collections