Modest Mouse Announces New Album ‘The Golden Casket’ & Shares Single

By Scott Bernstein May 5, 2021 7:22 am PDT

Modest Mouse will issue a new album entitled The Golden Casket via Epic Records on June 25. The band previewed their first new album with the release of lead single “We Are Between.”

The long-awaited follow-up to 2015’s Strangers To Ourselves was produced by Dave Sardy and Jacknife Lee. Modest Mouse recorded the 12-track LP at their studio in Portland, Oregon and in Los Angeles.

“The album hovers in the liminal space between raw punk power and experimental studio science, frontman Isaac Brock explores themes ranging from the degradation of our psychic landscapes and invisible technology, to fatherhood,” reads press materials heralding The Golden Casket. “The twelve tracks behave like amorphous organisms, undergoing dramatic mutations and mood swings that speak to the chronic tug-of-war between hope and despair that plays out in Brock’s head.”

Stream Modest Mouse’s “We Are Between” below:

The Golden Casket Tracklist

  1. Fuck Your Acid Trip
  2. We Are Between
  3. We’re Lucky
  4. Walking and Running
  5. Wooden Soldiers
  6. Transmitting Receiving
  7. The Sun Hasn’t Left
  8. Lace Your Shoes
  9. Never Fuck A Spider On The Fly
  10. Leave A Light On
  11. Japanese Trees
  12. Back To The Middle
JamBase Collections