Michael Franti & Spearhead Announce New Album & Share Single

Michael Franti & Spearhead have revealed details of their upcoming new album Soulrocker. The band’s ninth studio LP will be issued via Fantasy Records on June 3 and the record’s first single has been shared in advance of its release.

Co-produced with Jamaica-natives Stephen “Di Genius” McGregor and Dwayne “SupaDups” ChinQuee, the new album includes 13 new tracks. Franti’s interest in electronic music helped shape the sound of Soulrocker, growing out of the early acoustic guitar demos that gave the songs their start.

“One of the first records I had as a kid was a Kraftwerk seven-inch that I got from the giveaway bin at the UC Davis radio station KDVS,” Franti said. “We always do a DJ set at the end of our shows, and I wanted to try bringing in those dance and electronic elements but still keep the organic instrumentation that I’ve always loved.”

Michael Franti & Spearhead will soon embark on the Soulrocker Tour in support of the album. Stream the album’s first single, “Crazy For You” right here:

Soulrocker Tracklist

  1. Crazy For You
  2. My Lord
  3. Get Myself To Saturday
  4. Summertime Is In Our Hands
  5. We Are All Earthlings
  6. Still Standing
  7. Good To Be Alive Today
  8. My Favorite Wine Is Tequila
  9. Once A Day
  10. We Do This Every Day
  11. I Got Love For Ya
  12. Do You Feel The Way That I Do?
  13. Love Will Find A Way
  • Upcoming Shows

Related Bands

Related Articles

Featured Articles

More articles