Mark Knopfler Digs Deep Into Solo & Dire Straits Repertoires At 2019 Tour Opener In Barcelona

By Scott Bernstein Apr 26, 2019 8:08 am PDT

Famed guitarist Mark Knopfler kicked off his world tour in support of Down The Road Wherever, a new studio album that came out last November, on Thursday night at Palau Sant Jordi in Barcelona. Knopfler offered plenty of live debuts and rarities, including Dire Straits songs he hadn’t played in years.

The former Dire Straits guitarist’s band for the 2019 run features longtime collaborators Guy Fletcher (keyboards), Richard Bennett (guitar), Jim Cox (piano), Mike McGoldrick (whistle and flute), John McCusker (fiddle and cittern), Glenn Worf (bass), Danny Cummings (percussion) and Ian Thomas (drums) as well as new additions Graeme Blevins (saxophone) and Tom Walsh (trumpet). Knopfler began his first tour since 2005 by dusting off “Why Aye Man” from 2002’s The Ragpicker’s Dream after eight years on the shelf. Next up was “Nobody Does That,” one of three songs from Down The Road Wherever played live for the first time last night.

More treats were in store as the guitarist performed “Sailing To Philadelphia,” the title track from his sophomore solo studio album, for the first time since 2012. Then, Knopfler looked to the Dire Straits repertoire for his first-ever solo rendition of “Once Upon A Time In The West” from the Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame act’s Communiqué LP. “Once Upon A Time In The West” was last played by Dire Straits in 1983 — 36 years ago. Other Dire Straits tunes that made the setlist were “Romeo & Juliet,” “Your Latest Trick,” “On Every Street” and “Telegraph Road.” Mark also busted out one of the band’s biggest hit, “Money For Nothing” for the first time on tour since 2005 as part of an encore that also included “Going Home: Theme From Local Hero.”

Debuts weren’t limited to Down The Road Wherever material. Knopfler also unveiled live versions of “Heart Full Of Holes” from 2007’s Kill To Get Crimson and “Silvertown Blues” off Sailing To Philadelphia. The tour continues tonight in Valencia, Spain. On August 16, the North American leg starts in Mashantucket, Connecticut.

Fan-Shot Videos (Captured by Poupystar Is Back, Except Where Noted)

Money For Nothing

Once Upon A Time In The West Captured by Christophe Leon

Silvertown Blues

On Every Street Captured by Hell Yeah!


Mark Knopfler at Palau Sant Jordi

  • Why Aye Man  
  • Nobody Does That  
  • Corned Beef City
  • Sailing to Philadelphia
  • Once Upon a Time in the West  
  • Romeo and Juliet  
  • My Bacon Roll  
  • Matchstick Man  
  • Done With Bonaparte
  • Heart Full of Holes  
  • She's Gone
  • Your Latest Trick  
  • Silvertown Blues  
  • Postcards From Paraguay  
  • On Every Street  
  • Speedway at Nazareth
  • Telegraph Road  
  • Money for Nothing  
  • Going Home: Theme of the Local Hero

Loading band summary

JamBase Collections