Mapache Releases Surprise EP ‘Lonesome LA Cowboy’


Southern California-based acoustic duo Mapache unveiled their critically-acclaimed self-titled debut album late last year and didn’t wait long to issue new music. Mapache has released Lonesome LA Cowboy, a surprise EP featuring covers of New Riders Of The Purple Sage’s “Lonesome LA Cowboy,” The Louvin Brothers’ “Katie Dear” and Doc Watson’s “Last Thing On My Mind.”

Sam Blasucci and Clay Finch’s voices and guitar work mesh beautifully on the collection of covers. The pair tapped Dan Horne, who was behind the board for their debut LP, to produce Lonesome LA Cowboy. Sam and Clay cozied up to a single microphone for one or two takes on each of the three songs during the quick session that yielded Lonesome LA Cowboy.

Mapache eschewed the typical release cycle for the new EP. “We just didn’t see any reason to wait,” said Blasucci in a press release. “Our repertoire has grown since our first record, and these songs are just too much fun not to sing.”

Listen to the three-track collection below:

Check out the official video for Mapache’s cover of “Lonesome LA Cowboy”:

Lonesome LA Cowboy Tracklist

  1. Katie Dear
  2. Last Thing On My Mind
  3. Lonesome LA Cowboy
  4. Tour Dates for

    • Dec
    • Dec
    • Dec