Makaya McCraven Announces New Album ‘Universal Beings E&F Sides’ & Shares Single


Jazz drummer Makaya McCraven will issue a new album, Universal Beings E&F Sides, on July 31. The release is a companion to McCraven’s 2018 album Universal Beings and the soundtrack to the documentary film of the same name, also coming out on July 31.

The Universal Beings documentary was directed by Mark Pallman and follows the recording of the album across several cities. Featuring 14 new tracks, Universal Beings E&F Sides is made up of “new pieces of organic beat music cut from the original [Universal Beings] sessions, prepared and produced by Makaya.”

Among those who contributed to E&F Sides were Jeff Parker, Shabaka Hutchings, Miguel-Atwood Ferguson and Carlos Niño, along with several others. Sessions were held at studios in New York City, Chicago and London and at Parker’s house in Altadena, California.

Recorded on October 19, 2017, at London’s Total Refreshment Studios, the single “Mak Attack” — featuring Ashley Henry on Fender Rhodes, Nubya Garcia on tenor saxophone and Daniel Casimir on double bass — can be streamed below:

Universal Beings E&F Sides Tracklist

  1. Everybody Cool
  2. Half Steppin’
  3. Mak Attack
  4. The Hunt
  5. Beat Science
  6. Dadada
  7. Isms
  8. Traveling Space
  9. Kings and Queens
  10. The Loneliness
  11. Her Name
  12. Universal Beings pt 2
  13. Butterss Fly
  14. The Way Home

[Hat Tip – Brooklyn Vegan]

JamBase Live Video Archive
JamBase Live Video Archive