Maggie Rose Announces New Album ‘Have A Seat’ & Shares Single


Maggie Rose will release her third studio album, Have A Seat, on August 20 via Starstruck Records. The Nashville-based singer-songwriter shared the record’s lead single, “Do It.”

Rose revealed the title of Have A Seat on a recent episode of The JamBase Podcast. She also discussed recording the album at the renowned FAME Studios in Muscle Shoals, Alabama with producer Ben Tanner of Alabama Shakes.

“These songs were written during a contentious time, and there are undertones to the lyrics that are influenced by the state of our world politics and the politics of the music industry,” Rose stated. “The title ‘Have A Seat’ is responsorial, placing an emphasis on inclusivity — like, ‘Here, sit down. Let’s try talking to each other.’ One of the most loving things we can do is listen and make others feel heard — give people the space to speak their mind and be themselves. However, there’s also an intended meaning to the title that points to the power in occupying the seat that’s designated to you: I am claiming a seat I believe is rightfully mine, and I want others to do the same.”

Those who contributed to the 11-track LP were bassist David Hood of the legendary Muscle Shoals-based session players The Swampers, guitarist Will McFarlane (Bonnie Raitt, Levon Helm), and Rose’s regular collaborators from her band Them Vibes including vocalist/percussionist Larry Florman, guitarist Alex Haddad and drummer Sarah Tomek. Guitarist Marcus King was among a number of guests who also appear on the follow-up to 2018’s Change The Whole Thing

“Working with musicians of that caliber and knowing they were giving my music so much attention definitely made me thrive,” said Rose. “I felt so safe going deep into the emotional places within the songs, and I think you can feel that love and camaraderie when you listen to the record … I’ve worked in this industry for over a decade, and I feel like I’ve finally carved out a lane that’s genre-bending and all my own … I had to really fight to find that space for myself, and this record is my way of staking my claim.”

Stream “Do It,” the lead single off Maggie Rose’s upcoming new studio album, Have A Seat, below:

Have A Seat Tracklist

  1. What Are We Fighting For
  2. Do It
  3. For Your Consideration
  4. Saint
  5. Are We There Yet
  6. The Best In Me
  7. What Makes You Tick (feat. Marcus King)
  8. Help Myself
  9. Now And Then
  10. Telephone
  11. You Got Today

Support JamBase
Like Us on Facebook