Lukas Nelson & Promise Of The Real Release Rollicking ‘More Than Friends’ Single Featuring Lainey Wilson

The track is the first single from the group’s forthcoming new album, Sticks & Stones.

By Scott Bernstein Mar 22, 2023 8:18 am PDT

Lukas Nelson duets with country star Lainey Wilson on “More Than Friends,” a new collaborative single. The song is the first preview of Lukas Nelson + POTR‘s upcoming new studio album, Sticks And Stones.

Self-produced and containing 12 songs solely written by Nelson, Sticks And Stones is due out via 6ACE Records/Thirty Tigers on July 14. The album comes on the heels of 2021’s A Few Stars Apart.


Lukas Nelson shared the following regarding his new album:

“This album is about celebrating the human connection, joy and excitement. We went from quiet and introspective on A Few Stars Apart to something big and fun to really showcase the band’s talent and performance. You can listen to the album Sticks and Stones from start to finish and get the songs to dance to and then the quiet, poignant songs. To me, this album is the perfect setlist.”

After penning “More Than Friends,” Nelson reached out to Lainey Wilson and was happy she agreed to record the song with him. “When I wrote ‘More Than Friends,’ I had always envisioned it as a duet,” Lukas explained. “I am a big fan of Lainey and she was at the top of my list of artists I wanted to sing with me on this track. When we sent her the song, I was thrilled to hear back that she loved it and wanted to do it.”

Watch the “More Than Friends” video, which was premiered by CMT, below:

Loading tour dates


Sticks And Stones Tracklist

  1. Sticks and Stones
  2. Alcohallelujah
  3. Every Time I Drink
  4. More Than Friends (feat. Lainey Wilson)
  5. Ladder of Love
  6. Wrong House
  7. Icarus
  8. If I Didn’t Love You
  9. Overpass
  10. Lying
  11. All Four Winds
  12. The View
JamBase Collections