Liz Phair Announces New Album ‘Soberish’ & Shares Single


On June 4 Liz Phair will release Soberish, a new album marking her first of original material in 11 years, via Chrysalis Records. Today, Phair unveiled “Spanish Doors,” the LP’s opening track.

The long-awaited follow-up to 2010’s Funstyle was produced by longtime Phair collaborator Brad Wood who previously helmed Liz’s acclaimed albums Exile In Guyville, Whip-Smart and whitechocolatespaceegg. “I found my inspiration for Soberish by delving into an early era of my music development, my art school years spent listening to Art Rock and New Wave music non-stop on my Walkman. The English Beat, The Specials, Madness, R.E.M.s Automatic for the People, Yazoo, The Psychedelic Furs, Talking Heads, Velvet Underground, Laurie Anderson, and the Cars,” Phair explained. “The city came alive for me as a young person, the bands in my headphones lending me the courage to explore.”

Liz also weighed in on the album’s title. “Soberish can be about partying. It can be about self-delusion. It can be about chasing that first flush of love or, in fact, any state of mind that allows you to escape reality for a while and exist on a happier plane. It’s not self-destructive or out of control; it’s as simple as the cycle of dreaming and waking up,” Phair added. “That’s why I chose to symbolize Soberish with a crossroads, with a street sign. It’s best described as a simple pivot of perspective. When you meet your ‘ish’ self again after a period of sobriety, there’s a deep recognition and emotional relief that floods you, reminding you that there is more to life, more to reality and to your own soul than you are consciously aware of.”

Phair previously released “Hey Lou” which appears as the third track on Soberish. As for “Spanish Doors,” Phair noted the song as being “about the fracturing of a beautiful life, when everything you counted on is suddenly thrown up for grabs.” She went on to state, “I drew inspiration from a friend who was going through a divorce, but the actions in the lyrics are my own. I relate to hiding out in the bathroom when everyone around you is having a good time, but your life just fell apart.”

Stream Liz Phair’s “Spanish Doors” below:

Soberish Tracklist

  1. Spanish Doors
  2. The Game
  3. Hey Lou
  4. In There
  5. Good Side
  6. Sheridan Side
  7. Ba Ba Ba
  8. Soberish
  9. Soul Sucker
  10. Lonely Street
  11. Dosage
  12. Bad Kitty
  13. Rain Scene
  • Liz Phair Shares New Song 'Hey Lou'

    Liz Phair Shares New Song 'Hey Lou'

    Liz Phair released her first new song in two years, “Hey Lou,” which arrived with an accompanying music video.

Support JamBase
Like Us on Facebook