Listen To The Jerry Garcia Band’s ‘Reuben & Cerise’ From ‘Garcia Live Volume Eight’


The next installment of the Jerry Garcia live archival series GarciaLive will feature a complete performance from the Jerry Garcia Band’s Fall 1991 Tour. GarciaLive Volume Eight, due on March 10 via Round Records, contains the JGB’s visit to the Bradley Center in Milwaukee on November 23, 1991. Earlier today, Relix premiered “Reuben & Cerise” off GarciaLive Volume Eight.

The Jerry Garcia Band lineup from Fall ’91 is what keyboardist Melvin Seals considers “the magic band” as Garcia and Seals are joined by drummer Dave Kemper, bassist John Kahn and vocalists Jackie LaBranch and Gloria Jones. On GarciaLive Volume Eight we listen to the group work through a number of JGB repertoire classics and a few rarities. The band opens with “Cats Under The Stars” and fit Garcia/Hunter-penned chestnuts “They Love Each Other,” “Reuben & Cerise” and “Deal” into the first set along with covers of Clapton’s “Lay Down Sally,” The Band’s “The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down,” The Drifters’ “Money Honey” and Charles Johnson’s “My Sisters & Brothers.”

The second set begins with what turned out to be the Jerry Garcia Band’s last version of “Bright Side Of The Road” by Van Morrison. Garcia and his band then work through Bruce Cockburn’s “Waiting For A Miracle,” Jimmy McCracklin’s “Think,” a 13-minute take on The Manhattans’ “Shining Star,” the tour debut of Norton Buffalo’s “Ain’t No Bread In The Breadbox,” gospel standard “That Lucky Old Sun” and Bob Dylan’s “Tangled Up In Blue.” The crispy release was recorded by John Cutler and is accompanied by a package that includes photos by Bob Minkin and an essay by Dean Budnick. Head here to pre-order.

“Reuben & Cerise” is a fitting song to be unveiled on Valentine’s Day as it tells a modernized version of the Greek myth where Orpheus journeys to the underworld to retrieve the body of his love Eurydice. The spelling of the title of the song has been up for debate since Garcia debuted the song, but lyricist Robert Hunter’s book of lyrics has it as “Reuben and Cérise.” Listen to the version off GarciaLive Volume Eight:

GarciaLive Volume Eight Tracklist

Set One

  1. Cats Under The Stars
  2. They Love Each Other
  3. Lay Down Sally
  4. The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down
  5. Reuben & Cerise
  6. Money Honey
  7. My Sisters & Brothers
  8. Deal

Set Two

  1. Bright Side Of The Road
  2. Waiting For A Miracle
  3. Think
  4. Shining Star
  5. Ain’t No Bread In The Breadbox
  6. That Lucky Old Sun
  7. Tangled Up In Blue