Listen To Chuck Berry’s Posthumous New Single ‘Lady B. Goode’


Next month Dualtone Records will issue the posthumous Chuck Berry album Chuck. Another single from the final record by the legendary guitarist, who passed away at age 90 in March, has been shared in advance of the LP’s June 9 release.

Considered the “spiritual sequel” to Berry’s well-known 1958 hit “Johnny B. Goode,” the latest single from Chuck is the track “Lady B. Goode.” The song features three generations of Berrys on guitar: Chuck, Charles Berry Jr. and Charles Berry III. Also contributing to the record’s 10 tracks were Chuck’s daughter Ingrid Berry on harmonica, drummer Keith Robinson, pianist Robert Lohr and bassist Jimmy Marsala. Additional guests appearing on the album included Gary Clark Jr., Tom Morello and Nathaniel Rateliff.

Recorded in studios around Berry’s native St. Louis, Chuck serves as the first new material from the rock ‘n’ roll pioneer since his album Rock It came out in 1979. Stream “Lady B. Goode,” as well as previously shared singles “Big Boys” and “Wonderful Woman,” below:

[Big Boys]

[Wonderful Woman]

Chuck Tracklist

  1. Wonderful Woman
  2. Big Boys
  3. You Go To My Head
  4. 3/4 Time (Enchiladas)
  5. Darlin’
  6. Lady B. Goode
  7. She Still Loves You
  8. Jamaica Moon
  9. Dutchman
  10. Eyes of Man