Leonard Cohen Shares New Album ‘You Want It Darker’


Legendary singer-songwriter Leonard Cohen will issue his 14th studio album, You Want It Darker, on October 21. Today, NPR Music’s First Listen has made the entire album available to stream in advance of its official release.

Produced by his son Adam Cohen, the LP includes nine new Cohen compositions. It follows-up his last full length studio album Popular Problems, which came out in 2014. The veteran musician and poet recently told The New Yorker he was “ready to die” while hoping he might still get a “second wind.”

The album You Want It Darker can be streamed via NPR’s First Listen below:

You Want It Darker Tracklist

  1. You Want It Darker
  2. Treaty
  3. On the Level
  4. Leaving the Table
  5. If I Didn’t Have Your Love
  6. Traveling Light
  7. It Seemed the Better Way
  8. Steer Your Way
  9. String Reprise/ Treaty