Khruangbin Announces ‘Mordechai’ Album & Shares New Single

By Scott Bernstein Apr 27, 2020 11:50 am PDT

Khruangbin returns with the new single “Time (You And I),” the first taste of Mordechai, the long-awaited follow-up to 2018’s Con Todo El Mundo. Mordechai is due out via Dead Oceans on June 26.

Guitarist Mark Speer, bassist Laura Lee Ochoa and drummer Donald “DJ” Johnson started work on Mordechai last summer at their farmhouse studio in Burton, Texas. The new album is said to feature more vocals than both The Universe Smiles Upon You, their debut studio album and Con Todo El Mundo.

Read a description of Mordechai from press materials announcing the LP:

Musically, the band’s ever-restless ear saw it pulling reference points from Pakistan, Korea, and West Africa, incorporating strains of Indian chanting boxes and Congolese syncopated guitar. But more than anything, the album became a celebration of Houston, the eclectic city that had nurtured them, and a cultural nexus where you can check out country and zydeco, trap rap, or avant-garde opera on any given night.

“Time (You And I)” premiered on BBC Radio 1. Check out the “Time (You And I)” video and audio below:

Mordechai Tracklist

  1. First Class
  2. Time (You & I)
  3. Connaissais de Face
  4. Father Bird, Mother Bird
  5. If There Is No Question
  6. Pelota
  7. One To Remember
  8. Dearest Alfred
  9. So We Won’t Forget
  10. Shida
JamBase Live Video Archive
JamBase Live Video Archive
JamBase Collections