Johnny Depp Appears On New Ryan Adams B Side

Today, singer-songwriter Ryan Adams has released a new 7″ vinyl for “Gimme Something Good,” the first single off his new self-titled album, which is set to hit stores on September 9. The B Side for the vinyl is called “Aching For More,” and Adams was joined in the recording of the track by actor Johnny Depp.

“I’ve been writing and recording with Ryan Adams a lot lately. Ryan is incredibly prolific and he’s just a pure soul, he’s just this being. He’s got a great handle on it. And is taking good care of himself. But what a talent, man. I’m amazed by the f**ker,” Depp told Iggy Pop in a chat that was published by Interview Magazine earlier this year. Depp plays guitar on “Aching For More.”

The above back cover art from “Gimme Something Good” lets us know that Adams was backed on his new single by Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers keyboardist Benmont Tench, bassist Tal Wikenfeld (Jeff Beck), British drummer Jeremy Stacey and guitarist Mike Viola, who produced the track with Ryan. “Aching For More” features Adams, Depp, bassist Gus Seyffert, Stacey and Viola. 

As mentioned, we now know that Ryan Adams’ self-titled 14th solo album is due on September 9 via Pax Am Records under license to Blue Note Records. “Gimme Something Good” can now be streamed on Spotify:

Here’s the tracklist that appears on the iTunes pre-order page:

1. Gimme Something Good
2. Kim
3. Trouble
4. Am I Safe
5. My Wrecking Ball
6. Stay With Me
7. Shadows
8. Feels Like Fire
9. I Just Might
10. Tired Of Giving Up
11. Let Go