John Prine, Jason Isbell & Tyler Childers Among 2018 Americana Honors & Awards Winners


Last night the Americana Music Association held the 2018 Americana Honors & Awards show at the famed Ryman Auditorium in Nashville. John Prine, Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit and Tyler Childers were among this year’s winning musicians.

Prine was named Artist Of The Year for the second year in a row. Isbell, who led with four nominations, was the big winner of the night earning Album Of The Year honors for The Nashville Sound, Song Of The Year for “If We Were Vampires” and nabbing Duo/Group Of The Year with The 400 Unit. The Emerging Artist Of The Year went to Childers with Molly Tuttle taking home Instrumentalist Of The Year.

The Spirit of Americana/Free Speech in Music Award was bestowed upon Rosanne Cash. The Americana Trailblazer Award was given to k.d. lang and Irma Thomas received the Lifetime Achievement Award, Performance. The evening also saw Buddy Guy honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award, Instrumentalist. Additionally, Olivia Records founders Cris Williamson and Judy Dlugacz were presented with the Lifetime Achievement Award, Executive.

A special featuring performance highlights will be broadcast on CMT on Wednesday, November 28 at 8:00 p.m. CT, followed by a special broadcast on the PBS television series Austin City Limits in February 2019.

View the full list of 2018 Americana Honors & Awards winners below:

2018 Americana Honors & Awards Nominees

Album Of The Year

  • “The Nashville Sound,” Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit, Produced by Dave Cobb (WINNER)
  • “All American Made,” Margo Price, Produced by Jeremy Ivey, Alex Munoz, Margo Price and Matt Ross-Spang
  • “By The Way, I Forgive You,” Brandi Carlile, Produced by Dave Cobb and Shooter Jennings
  • “Rifles & Rosary Beads,” Mary Gauthier, Produced by Neilson Hubbard

Artist Of The Year

  • John Prine (WINNER)
  • Brandi Carlile
  • Jason Isbell
  • Margo Price

Duo/Group Of The Year

  • Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit (WINNER)
  • I’m With Her
  • Lukas Nelson & Promise Of The Real
  • Nathaniel Rateliff & the Night Sweats

Emerging Act Of The Year

  • Tyler Childers (WINNER)
  • Courtney Marie Andrews
  • Anderson East
  • Lilly Hiatt

Song Of The Year

  • “If We Were Vampires,” Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit, Written by Jason Isbell (WINNER)
  • “A Little Pain,” Margo Price, Written by Margo Price
  • “All The Trouble,” Lee Ann Womack, Written by Waylon Payne, Lee Ann Womack and Adam Wright
  • “The Joke,” Brandi Carlile, Written by Brandi Carlile, Dave Cobb, Phil Hanseroth and Tim Hanseroth

Instrumentalist Of The Year

  • Molly Tuttle (WINNER)
  • Daniel Donato
  • Brittany Haas
  • Jerry Pentecost