John Mayer Covers ‘Fire On The Mountain’ In Providence


John Mayer held a concert at Dunkin Donuts Center in Providence, Rhode Island on Saturday night. Toward the end of the second set, the Dead & Company guitarist returned to some Grateful Dead material with “Fire On The Mountain.”

Mayer kicked off the show with “Heartbreak Welfare” and continued on with an all-original set that contained a trio of songs from his latest album, The Search For Everything, including “Love On The Weekend,” “Helpless” and ”Changing.” The first set also saw a number of songs from his 2013 album Paradise Valley including “Paper Doll,” “Waiting On The Day” and the set closer “Dear Marie.”

Mayer got the second set underway with “Walt Grace’s Submarine Test, January 1967” followed by the hit “Your Body Is A Wonderland” and a cover of Tom Petty’s “Free Fallin.” The singer-songwriter returned to songs from The Theory Of Everything with “In The Blood” and “Still Feel Like Your Man.” “Queen Of California” led into “Fire” ahead of the hit “Waiting On The World To Change.” The second set came to a close with Mayer’s latest single “I Guess I Just Feel Like.”

Mayer would encore with “Gravity” and his recent single “New Light.” Watch fan-shot video of “Fire On The Mountain” via Concertvids34 below:


John Mayer at Dunkin Donuts Center

Set 1
  • Heartbreak Warfare
  • Love on the Weekend
  • I Don't Trust Myself (With Loving You)
  • No Such Thing
  • Waiting on the Day
  • Helpless
  • Who Says
  • Paper Doll
  • Changing
  • Dear Marie
Set 2
  • Walt Grace's Submarine Test, January 1967
  • Your Body Is a Wonderland
  • Free Fallin'  
  • In the Blood
  • Still Feel Like Your Man
  • Dreaming With a Broken Heart
  • Queen of California  
  • Fire on the Mountain  
  • The Beautiful Ones  
  • Slow Dancing in a Burning Room
  • Waiting on the World to Change
  • I Guess I Just Feel Like
  • Gravity
  • New Light

Tour Dates for
John Mayer