Jim James & Louisville Orchestra Announce Collaborative Project ‘The Order Of Nature’


My Morning Jacket frontman Jim James teamed with conductor/composer Teddy Abrams and the Louisville Orchestra on a collaborative album called, The Order Of Nature. Due October 18 on Decca Gold, the album features new original James compositions and reworked arrangements of songs from his solo catalog.

Premiered on April 6 and 7, 2018 at the Louisville Orchestra’s annual Festival of American Music, The Order Of Nature will be performed by James, Abrams and local orchestras next month and in May 2020. The album features the April 7, 2018 performance in Louisville “recorded in one take [without] overdubs.”

“The core idea to me is trying to reflect on the fact that nature doesn’t know how to hate,” James said of the project’s lyrical content. “Humans are part of nature obviously, but why do we have this thing called hatred and how do we get rid of it? We’re fighting nature and thinking we can prevail over nature, but we’re killing each other and killing the planet.”

Accompanying the album is a three-part mini-documentary about The Order of Nature, the first chapter of which is now available. Watch the first part of the mini-doc and stream the album’s lead single “Set It To Song” below:

Set It To Song

Jim James & Teddy Abrams – The Order Of Nature – Part 1

The Order Of Nature Tracklist

  1. Walking In The Snow
  2. Here In Spirit
  3. The Human Touch
  4. In Demand
  5. Back To The End Of The World
  6. Who Am I?
  7. Over And Over
  8. Set It To Song
  9. Same Old Lie

Tour Dates for
Jim James