Jim James Announces New Album ‘Uniform Distortion’ & Shares Single


My Morning Jacket frontman Jim James will issue a new solo album entitled Uniform Distortion on June 29 via ATO Records. James shared a video for the LP’s lead single, “Just A Fool,” which premiered on NPR.org.

Jim James produced Uniform Distortion with Kevin Ratterman in Louisville at La La Land studio. All 11 songs were written by Jim James and he’s joined on the LP by bassist Seth Kauffman of Floating Action and drummer Dave Givan. Additionally, Kathleen Grace, Jamie Drake and Leslie Stevens of L.A.-based Americana trio Dear Lemon Trees provide backing vocals.

“My head feels like it is exploding with the amount of information we are forced to consume on a daily basis, and how that information is so DISTORTED there is almost no longer any tangible truth,” said James about the LP. “The name of my new record is UNIFORM DISTORTION because I feel like there is this blanket distortion on society/media and the way we gather our ‘news and important information. More and more of us are feeling lost and looking for new ways out of this distortion and back to the truth…and finding hope in places like the desert where I write this now…finding hope in the land and in the water and in old books offering new ideas and most importantly in each other and love.”

The cover art is a photo by Duane Michaels titled “The Illuminated Man” that was used in a 1971 version of The Last Whole Earth Catalog. Jim James was originally turned down by Michaels. Head to NPR to read the email Jim wrote to Duane that led to the photographer granting permission. Uniform Distortion is available for pre-order here.

Watch the video for the LP’s first single, “Just A Fool”:

Uniform Distortion Tracklist

  1. Just A Fool
  2. You Get To Rome
  3. Out Of Time
  4. Throwback
  5. No Secrets
  6. Yes To Everything
  7. No Use Waiting
  8. All In Your Head
  9. Better Late Than Never
  10. Over And Over
  11. Too Good To Be True