Jerry Garcia GarciaLive Volume 5 Due In October

Last month we revealed that the fifth installment of the Jerry Garcia GarciaLive series of archival releases will contain the lone Jerry Garcia Band New Year’s Eve performance. Today, it’s been announced that GarciaLive Volume 5: December 31, 1975 is due for release on October 21 and is currently available for pre-order.

The new release finds Jerry backed by bassist John Kahn, drummer Greg Errico and keyboardist Nicky Hopkins. In addition to the core band, the JGB was augmented by two special guests from Jerry’s other band, Bob Weir and Mickey Hart, as well as Matt Kelly of Kingfish for the second and third sets. Errico, who’s best known for his work with Sly & The Family Stone, was on hand because the regular JGB drummer at the time, Ron Tutt, was on the road with Elvis Presley. The show featured on GarciaLive Volume 5 was Hopkins last performance with the JGB.

By most accounts the JGB New Year’s show at the tiny Keystone was a “surprise gig,” likely because the group had headlined two shows at Winterland on December 19 and 20. Another theory is that the Keystone was so small that promoters didn’t want the venue to become overwhelmed by a large crowd. Regardless, we’re excited to hear such JGB rarities as “Mother Nature’s Son,” “God Save The Queen,” “Pig’s Boogie” and of course the “New Year’s Countdown.”

Disc 1:

Set One:
1. Let It Rock
2. Mother Nature’s Son
3. It Ain’t No Use
4. God Save The Queen
5. They Love Each Other
6. Pig’s Boogie

Disc 2:

Set Two:
1. New Year’s Countdown
2. How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved By You)
3. Catfish John
4. Mystery Train ->
5. Drums -> New Year’s Jam
6. Mystery Train

Set Three:

7. Tore Up Over You
8. Tuning
9. C.C. Rider
10. (I’m A) Road Runner