Jerry Garcia ‘GarciaLive Volume 14’ Features 1986 Concert With John Kahn


A Jerry Garcia and John Kahn acoustic performance is featured on the next installment of GarciaLive, which is the first acoustic show for the Jerry Garcia live archival series. GarciaLive Volume 14: January 27th, 1986 The Ritz is due out in digital formats and on CD July 24 with a vinyl release set for August 14 via Round Records.

Garcia and Kahn, his longtime collaborator, played a number of acoustic duo concerts to start 1986. The pair brought a short tour of the Northeast to New York City on January 27 and 28 for performances at The Ritz. Jerry and John treated fans to two sets on January 27, 1986 featuring a mix of Grateful Dead classics, traditional gems and choice covers before saying farewell with a “Goodnight Irene” encore. The forthcoming release comes with liner notes penned by Billy Strings.

All 12 songs the duo played are included on GarciaLive Volume 14: January 27th, 1986 The Ritz. In addition, those who pre-order the set on CD from Garcia Family Provisions or purchase the CD release at their local, independent record store will receive a bonus CD featuring Jerry Garcia & John Kahn’s complete performance from the next night at The Ritz.

Listen to “Ripple” from GarciaLive Volume 14 below:

  1. Deep Elem Blues
  2. Little Sadie
  3. Friend of the Devil
  4. Oh Babe, It Ain’t No Lie
  5. When I Paint My Masterpiece
  6. Run for the Roses
  7. Dire Wolf
  8. Simple Twist of Fate
  9. Spike Driver Blues
  10. Bird Song
  11. Ripple
  12. Goodnight Irene