Jason Isbell & The 400 Unit Debut ‘Because The Night’ Cover At The Ryman


Jason Isbell and The 400 Unit returned to the Ryman Auditorium in Nashville on Tuesday for the fifth night of their seven-show residency at the famed venue. Isbell and his band ended the show by debuting their take on Bruce Springsteen and Patti Smith‘s “Because The Night.”

The Alabama native continues to change up his setlist each night and insert surprises. Isbell’s 19-song performance on Tuesday began with the residency’s second “Go It Alone.” The band followed a few tunes later with the second versions of “Live Oak” and “Alabama Pines” played at the Ryman this run. Jason Isbell & The 400 Unit went on to bust out “The Last Song I Will Write” off their 2009 self-titled debut studio album. Last night’s “The Last Song I Will Write” was the first since October 15, 2010 as per Setlist.FM.


Isbell and company followed the return of “The Last Song I Will Write” with “Tour Of Duty” and “Last Of My Kind” before giving “Tupelo” its 2019 Ryman residency debut. The group ended the main set with a run of “If We Were Vampires,” “Super 8,” “Cover Me Up” and “Never Gonna Change.” Last night’s encore began with the residency’s first “Speed Trap Town.” Then, Jason dueted with his wife, Amanda Shires on the 400 Unit’s first ever cover of “Because The Night.” Springsteen originally recorded “Because The Night” during the sessions that yielded his 1978 studio album, Darkness On The Edge Of Town. The Boss passed the song along to Patti Smith who adapted the lyrics and released the tune of 1978’s Easter.

Watch fan-shot video captured by 1viperofmelody of Tuesday’s “Because The Night” below:



Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit at Ryman Auditorium

  • Go It Alone
  • Hope the High Road
  • Overseas
  • 24 Frames  
  • White Man's World
  • Live Oak  
  • Alabama Pines
  • Elephant  
  • Stockholm  
  • The Last Song I Will Write  
  • Tour of Duty
  • Last of My Kind
  • Tupelo
  • If We Were Vampires
  • Super 8  
  • Cover Me Up  
  • Never Gonna Change  
  • Speed Trap Town  
  • Because the Night