Jack Johnson Announces New Album ‘Meet The Moonlight’ & Shares Single

Watch the lyric video for the lead single, "One Step Ahead.”

By Andy Kahn Apr 8, 2022 8:09 am PDT

Jack Johnson will release a new album entitled, Meet The Moonlight through Bushfire Records/Republic Records on June 24 to coincide with the beginning of his summer tour. The singer-songwriter shared the album’s lead single, “One Step Ahead.”

Johnson’s eighth studio album, Meet The Moonlight is his first full length release in five years. The 10-song LP was produced by Blake Mills and engineered by Joseph Lorge. The follow-up to 2017’s All The Light Above It Too was recorded in Los Angeles at Sound City and EastWest Studios and in Hawaii at Johnson’s The Mango Tree facility.

Johnson relayed the below statement regarding the inspiration behind Meet The Moonlight:

“In some ways good songs are like good science, where they create a chain of thought that just leads to more questions. There’s not always that nice clean solution for what to do next if you want a perfect relationship or more peace of mind; sometimes it’s just pointing out everything that gets in the way of that. But hopefully the song ends up making you feel good, and gives you the comfort of knowing that other people are going through the same hardships …

“We’re at a point where human nature hasn’t changed but the technology around us has changed dramatically, and it’s getting to this dangerous place where the most extreme and sensationalized opinions have the potential to be heard by so many people. That line in the chorus is about trying to breathe through the noise and get to a calmer place, which seems important when we’re seeing a lot of friends lose trust and grow away from each other because they disagree over some issue or another …

“When Blake and I first got in touch we’d send each other playlists, and over time we realized we were drawn to music that sounds effortless despite all the effort put into making it. After a while we got a language together and I gained a trust in him that allowed me to let go, push outside my comfort zone, and get to a sound I really loved.”

Watch the lyric video for the Meet The Moonlight lead single, “One Step Ahead” here:

Meet The Moonlight Tracklist

  1. Open Mind
  2. 3AM Radio
  3. Calm Down
  4. One Step Ahead
  5. Meet The Moonlight
  6. Don’t Look Now
  7. Costume Party
  8. I Tend To Digress
  9. Windblown Eyes
  10. Any Wonder

Loading tour dates

  • Jack Johnson Expands Summer Tour 2022

    Jack Johnson Expands Summer Tour 2022 

  • Jack Johnson Announces Summer Tour 2022

    Jack Johnson Announces Summer Tour 2022 

JamBase Collections