Howlin Rain Details ‘Under The Wheels, Vol. 5: Live From Pioneertown’ & Shares Single

Preview the live recording with a 19-minute "Dharma Wheel."

By Nate Todd Sep 29, 2022 1:47 pm PDT

Howlin Rain will issue Under The Wheels, Vol. 5: Live From Pioneertown on October 14 via guitarist and singer-songwriter Ethan Miller’s Silver Current Records. Miller previewed the live record with a 19-minute “Dharma Wheel.”

Northern California’s Howlin Rain consists of founder Ethan Miller and longtime drummer Justin Smith. Joining them on Live From Pioneertown are newest members guitarist Jason Soda and bassist Kyle Wilcox.

The band captured Under The Wheels, Vol. 5: Live From Pioneertown at Southern California’s Pappy & Harriets on December 11, 2021. Jon Ballard multi-tracked what would become the fifth installment in Howlin Rain’s live release series with additional room recording from renowned Long Beach taper D Man, making Live From Pioneertown Howlin Rain’s highest fidelity live album since 2014’s Live Rain.

“Pioneertown was the last last show of the crazy year of 2021 and you can hear the ‘whoosh’ of energy and confidence, the extra drinks, the rules lifted in the high desert setting, the exhale of the finish line,” Miller said of the show that produced the new live LP. “I view Live from Pioneertown as the first big flag the new band has plunged into the moon to lay claim to the next step up the ever spiraling ladder of Howlin Rain’s creative journey.”

Miller previewed Under The Wheels, Vol. 5: Live From Pioneertown with a 19-minute rendition of “Dharma Wheel,” the title track to Howlin Rain’s 2021 studio album. Listen below “Dharma Wheel” Live From Pioneertown below:

Loading tour dates

JamBase Collections