Howlin Rain Releases ‘Don’t Let The Tears’ Single

Keyboardist Adam MacDougall shines as a guest on the second 'The Dharma Wheel' single.

By Scott Bernstein Sep 2, 2021 7:43 am PDT

Howlin Rain continues to preview their forthcoming The Dharma Wheel album by sharing the single “Don’t Let The Tears.” The Dharma Wheel arrives on Howlin Rain mastermind Ethan Miller’s Silver Current Records imprint on October 8.

The six-track LP was recorded at four different studios in California. Miller co-produced Dharma Wheel with longtime collaborator Tim Green. Ethan (lead vocal, guitar), Daniel Cervantes (guitar, backing vocals), Jeff McElroy (bass, backing vocal) and Justin Smith (drums, percussion, backing vocals) are joined on the album by Circles Around The Sun/CRB keyboardist Adam MacDougall and violinist Scarlet Rivera of Bob Dylan’s Rolling Thunder Revue.

MacDougall shines on the new single with wild synth work. “‘Don’t Let the Tears’ is the quintessential example of the joy location on the map of The Dharma Wheel album,” explained Miller in a statement. “Lyrically, it’s a bit of a nod to the poetry of Kenneth Patchen and Richard Brautigan, like a loose twist of tragedy and comedy barreling forth sincerely in a high energy, absurdist yawp. Musically it’s intended as a potent, fast-acting pill of spirit rejuvenation for the listener—a bubbling, liquid labyrinth of sonic delights and music as a celebration of music.”

Ethan Miller and company previously shared the album’s multi-movement, 16-minute closer “The Dharma Wheel.” Now, stream “Don’t Let The Tears” below:

Tour Dates for Howlin Rain

JamBase Collections