[UPDATED] Holly Bowling Details Album Of Grateful Dead Interpretations For Solo Piano



  • Sep 21, 2016 • 1:52 pm PDT

    Holly has shared an “infomercial” parodying the Freedom Rock commercials of the late ’80s. Watch the 150-second promotional video for Better Left Unsung:

Holly Bowling recently announced an upcoming new album of Grateful Dead interpretations entitled Better Left Unsung. The pianist has shared which classic Dead songs she arranged for solo piano on the new LP coming out on Royal Potato Family on December 9.

Bowling is supporting Better Left Unsung through a PledgeMusic campaign with the new record available digitally, as a double-CD and as a triple-LP set on 180 gram audiophile-grade vinyl. The new album includes arrangements of the complete “Terrapin Station” suite, “Franklin’s Tower,” “The Other One” and “China Doll,” as well as “Cassidy” (which she recently performed for JamBase) and her interpretation of her favorite live version of “Eyes Of The World” from Louisville’s Freedom Hall in 1974 (which she also played as part of the JamBase Songs Of Their Own series).

Here’s more about the release followed by the 13-song tracklist:

I’m recording a solo piano album of the music of the Grateful Dead! It’s over two hours worth of music and has been a labor of love over the past year that I can’t wait to share with you all. It includes a solo piano “jam transcription” of one of my favorite versions of “Eyes Of The World”, from Freedom Hall in Louisville, Kentucky, 6/18/74 as well as a a rendition of the entire Terrapin Station Suite.

I grew up listening to the Dead and their music has been an important part of my life for as long as I can remember, so this music is very close to my heart. It’s been an amazing process to explore this music that I’ve known and loved my entire life in a whole new light.

Better Left Unsung will be available as a triple-LP set on 180 gram audiophile-grade vinyl as well as a double-disc CD. The album cover will feature art by Ryan Kerrigan, which will also be available as a limited edition print specially created to commemorate Better Left Unsung (available here through PledgeMusic).

Every pre-order comes with an Access Pass, which gives you special access to the updates that I’ll be posting. I’ll share snippets of the songs, videos of the arranging process, shots from the studio, an inside look at how some of the tracks came together, and updates on the album’s progress, including the artwork! You’ll also get a sneak peek at the latest jam transcription I’m working on and will get to see the process unfold. These videos will only be available in full to people who pre-order through PledgeMusic.

I’m incredibly excited to bring this album into the world and can’t wait for you to hear it!

  • With love and gratitude,
  • Holly

Better Left Unsung Tracklist

  1. Help On The Way > Slipknot!
  2. Franklin’s Tower
  3. Cassidy
  4. Bird Song
  5. Wharf Rat
  6. Unbroken Chain
  7. Crazy Fingers
  8. Cryptical Envelopment > The Other One
  9. Row Jimmy
  10. Terrapin Station (Suite)
  11. Eyes Of The World (6/18/74 Louisville, KY)
  12. China Doll
  13. Dark Star