Hiss Golden Messenger Announces New Album ‘Terms Of Surrender’ & Shares Single


Hiss Golden Messenger will release a new album entitled Terms Of Surrender via Merge Records on September 20. The band previewed the album by sharing the video for its lead single, “I Need A Teacher.”

Terms Of Surrender was co-produced by Brad Cook and the band’s mastermind, M.C. Taylor. Aaron Dessner of The National, Jenny Lewis and Josh Kaufman each make guest appearances on the album. Hiss Golden Messenger recorded the 10-track LP at Aaron Dessner’s Long Pond facility in upstate New York. Additional sessions were held at Sound City in Los Angeles, Haptown Studio in Nashville and Overdub Lane in Durham, North Carolina.

The video for “I Need A Teacher” was filmed during the North Carolina Association Of Educators’ Day Of Action demonstration on May 1. Students, teachers and staff statewide walked out that day in protest of continued funding cuts to public education by state lawmakers. Teachers, children and families that took part in the demonstration are featured in the video.

Watch the video for “I Need A Teacher” below:

Terms Of Surrender Tracklist

  1. I Need A Teacher
  2. Bright Direction (You’re a Dark Star Now)
  3. My Wing
  4. Old Enough to Wonder Why (East Side—West Side)
  5. Cat’s Eye Blue
  6. Happy Birthday, Baby
  7. Down At The Uptown
  8. Katy (You Don’t Have To Be Good Yet)
  9. Whip
  10. Terms Of Surrender

Tour Dates for
Hiss Golden Messenger