Phish Bassist Mike Gordon Guests With Guster In Vermont

The bassist lent a hand on “Ruby Falls” and a cover of Pixies’ “Here Comes Your Man” on the Midway Lawn at Champlain Valley Expo in Essex Junction.

By Scott Bernstein Jun 12, 2022 11:05 am PDT

Guster was joined by Phish bassist Mike Gordon for two songs to end their set last night in Essex Junction, Vermont. Gordon sat-in with the quartet on a Guster original and Pixies cover as part of a night on the Midway Lawn at Champlain Valley Expo that also featured a set from The Wood Brothers.

Last night marked the first time a member of Phish performed live with Guster as per’s report. Gordon emerged towards the conclusion of Guster’s set to add a second bass on “Ruby Falls.” The song appears on the band’s fifth studio album, 2006’s Ganging Up On The Sun.

Mike stuck around to augment Guster on a cover of Pixies’ Doolittle gem “Here Comes Your Man.” Guster hadn’t performed “Here Comes Your Man” since 2001 according to Setlist.FM stats.

The Phish bassist’s appearance capped a 15-song career-spanning Guster performance in Essex Junction. The quartet played such staples as “Airport Song,” “Satellite,” “Ramona” and “Manifest Destiny.” Guster’s latest album, 2019’s Look Alive, was represented at Champlain Valley Expo by “Hello Mister Sun” and “Terrified.”

Watch a fan-shot clip of Mike joining Guster below:

Loading tour dates


Guster at Champlain Valley Fairgrounds and Exposition Center

  • What You Wish For
  • Careful
  • Simple Machine
  • Stay With Me Jesus
  • Satellite
  • Hello Mister Sun
  • Ramona
  • Long Night
  • Terrified
  • Do You Love Me
  • Come Downstairs and Say Hello
  • Manifest Destiny
  • Airport Song
  • Doin' It By Myself
  • Ruby Falls
  • Here Comes Your Man  

[Hat Tip –]

JamBase Collections