Grupo Fantasma: Album Out 5/11

By Team JamBase May 3, 2010 3:00 pm PDT


Grupo Fantasma
Click here to download the first single off “El Existential.”

The intrepid members of Grupo Fantasma have been doing things their own way for over a decade now, which continues with the highly anticipated and self-produced El Existential out May 11, 2010 on Nat Geo Music. An exceptional follow-up to their Grammy nominated Sonidos Gold, this new effort’s love for exploration using the sounds and fundamentals of traditional Latin styles is uniquely reminiscent of Fania Records; and GF, like Fania’s staple of artists in its prime, has been on the corner long enough to not only be tough, resilient and self-assured, but also be mature enough to turn out top quality material repeatedly on its own terms.

For El Existential the band opted to bypass the traditional studio route and installed a custom built facility in a three bedroom rental house in their hometown of Austin, Texas. Their goal: to immerse themselves in a collectively occupied homestead so they could create communally in a non-corporate, domestic atmosphere engineered to foster collaboration and experimentation. Special guests on the album include the legendary pianist Larry Harlow (who also appeared on Sonidos Gold) and guitar wizard Curt Kirkwood of the Meat Puppets.

Track Listing:
1. “Realizando”
2. “La Conozco”
3. “Sacatelo Bailando”
4. “El Consejo”
5. “Hijo”
6. “Juan Tenorio” (feat. Larry Harlow)
7. “Montañozo”
8. “Calor”
9. “Reconciliar”
10. “25”
11. “Telaraña” (feat. Curt Kirkwood from The Meat Puppets)
12. “Cumbianchera”
13. “Araña Cuña”

Grupo Fantasma Tour Dates :: Grupo Fantasma News :: Grupo Fantasma Concert Reviews

JamBase Collections