Greensky Bluegrass Welcomes Jon Stickley & Lyndsay Pruett On ‘Casual Wednesday’ In Norfolk


Greensky Bluegrass generally has surprises in store for fans attending Wednesday concerts in honor of the original “Casual Wednesday.” The band didn’t disappoint last night at The NorVa in Norfolk, Virginia where GSBG was joined by members of opening act the Jon Stickley Trio.

The quintet kicked off the show with just the second “Grow Bananas” since January. Then, guitarist Dave Bruzza‘s “A Leter To Seymour” was followed by the expected “Casual Wednesday,” which in turn bled into “Kerosene.” Fan-favorite “Handguns” was up next along with the year’s second cover of Flatts & Scruggs’ “Cry Holy Unto The Lord.” A run of “Fixin’ To Ruin,” “Past My Prime” and “Light Up Or Leave Me Alone” ended the frame.

Greensky got “Cold Feet” to start the second set and then played the title track from their 2019 album, All For Money. A few songs later, Jon Stickley Trio’s Lyndsay Pruett emerged for a cover of “Freeborn Man.” The set concluded with a wild sequence wrapped around their recently debuted rendition of Eddie Money’s “Two Tickets To Paradise.” Jon Stickley was on hand for the entire sequence, which included a few lyric changes to reference “Stickley,” Anders Beck‘s “Broke Mountain Breakdown” and a refrain of “Happy Birthday To You” in honor of banjoist Michael Arlen Bont within.

Jon Stickley returned to the stage with Greensky Bluegrass after the encore break. First up was what has been described by fan reports as a “Reggae Jam” that included portions of every song the band had played earlier in the evening with the exception of “Happy Birthday To You.” GSBG and Stickley put an exclamation point on the evening by covering J.J. Cale’s “After Midnight,” a cover the jamgrass act last played on November 17, 2018.

Watch the “Handguns” portion of the “Reggae Jam” captured by when_i_was_in_the_show:

Here’s a solo from Stickley during “Broke Mountain Breakdown” from the same account:

Check out a clip of Pruett adding to “Freeborn Man” thanks to the Jon Stickley Trio Instagram account:

Setlist (via Camp Greensky)

Set One: Grow Bananas, A Letter to Seymour, Casual Wednesday > Kerosene, Handguns, Cry Holy Unto The Lord, Fixin’ To Ruin (1)(2), Past My Prime > Light Up Or Leave Me Alone

Set Two: Cold Feet, All For Money, Just To Lie (3) > Bottle Dry, Freeborn Man (4), Do Harm, No Idea, Casual Wednesday Reprise, Cathedral Eyes, Two Tickets to Paradise (5)(6)(7) > Broke Mountain Breakdown (5)(8)(9) > Happy Birthday (5)(10) > Broke Mountain Breakdown (5)(11)(12)(9) > Two Tickets to Paradise (5)(7)(6)

Encore: Reggae Jam (5)(13) > After Midnight (5)

  • (1) Lyric change “circle back the semi”
  • (2) Keith Kinnear on woodblock
  • (3) Unfinished
  • (4) With Lindsey Pruitt
  • (5) With Jon Stickley
  • (6) Lyric change “two stickleys to Paradise”
  • (7) Lyric change “two stickleys in my pocket waiting for me”
  • (8) “Two Tickets to Paradise” tease”
  • (9) “Smoke on the water” teases and jam
  • (10) For Michael Arlen Bont
  • (11) “Kentucky Mandolin” tease
  • (12) “feel like making love” teases
  • (13) Entire show jammed in order in a reggae version (no Happy Birthday)

Tour Dates for
Greensky Bluegrass