Grateful Dead: Dave’s Picks Volume 7 Details Emerge


Details for the next volume of Dave’s Picks have emerged via a YouTube clip. In the video below, Dave Lemieux talks about Dave’s Picks Volume 7, recorded April 24, 1978 at Illinois State University’s Horton Field House in Normal, Ill. Mixed in with Dave’s insights are some great sounds of San Francisco including boat foghorns as fog envelops the Golden Gate Bridge.

In the video, Dave has some amazing things to say about the show including calling it one of the best first-sets of 1978. He takes particular note of some extended jamming the band does on “Stayin’ Alive,” and goes on to sing the praises of the entire second set.

Setlist via

04-24-78 Horton Field House, Il. U., Normal, Il. (Mon)
1: Promised Land, Ramble On Rose, Me and My Uncle> Big River, Friend of The Devil, Cassidy, Brown Eyed Women, Passenger, It Must Have Been The Roses, The Music Never Sopped
2: Scarlet Begonias> Fire on the Mountain> Good Lovin, Terrapin Station > Drums > Not Fade Away> Black Peter> Around and Around E: Werewolves

Stay tuned for more information on this upcoming release.

[Hat Tip to @Mr_Completely]

UPDATE 3:30 p.m. PST: Dave’s Pick’s Volume 7 is now available for pre-order.

Here are all the details from

This item is now available for PRE-ORDER ONLY. Item is estimated to ship August 1, 2013. The Grateful Dead may have wrapped up the final show of the first leg of their 1978 Spring Tour in a town called Normal, but this night was anything but! Yes, on this fine evening, the Rhythm Devils shook the room with an exotic tribal assault. Bob found his groove with the slide guitar, contrasting nicely with Keith’s block chording, Phil’s thundering and swooping bass-lines, Jerry’s articulated leads. Heck, they even dabbled in disco, teasing the audience with an unmistakable riffs from “Stayin’ Alive.” What does all this juiced-up, cranked to the max, sonic savagery add up to? Top-level deliveries of fan favorites like “The Music Never Stopped,” “Scarlet Begonias>Fire On The Mountain,” and “Ramble On Rose,” a jungle-vibed 14+ minute Rhythm Devils interlude, an over-the-top take on Warren Zevon’s “Werewolves of London” and much, much more.


Disc 1
1 Promised Land [5:14]
2 Ramble On Rose [8:07]
3 Me and My Uncle> [3:10]
4 Big River [6:21]
5 Friend Of The Devil [9:33]
6 Cassidy [5:38]
7 Brown-Eyed Women [5:57]
8 Passenger [5:45]
9 It Must Have Been The Roses [8:07]
10 The Music Never Stopped [8:51]

Disc 2
1 Scarlet Begonias> [12:55]
2 Fire On The Mountain> [11:08]
3 Good Lovin'[7:06]

Disc 3
1 Terrapin Station> [10:51]
2 Rhythm Devils [13:53]
3 Space> [6:41]
4 Not Fade Away> [11:19]
5 Black Peter> [11:47]
6 Around and Around [9:11]
7 Werewolves Of London [7:46]


Featured Articles

More articles